Random Draw

Fraserj

Board Regular
I want to create a champions League style group draw if possible through spreadsheet
As i'm a beginner to excel I don't have a clue how to do this and I am willing to learn if possible

I have 16 teams in columns A1 to A16
I have a seeded section ranging from 1 to 4 with the aim of creating 4 group tables, as shown below
Manchester
Liverpool
Arsenal
Chelsea
Tottenham
Leicester
Villa
Sunderland
Newcastle
Southampton

<tbody>
</tbody>

I want each team not to able to draw a team with the same seeded number
for example, Liverpool, Chelsea, Villa and Southampton can all be in the same group, but Manchester and Liverpool can't
Would really appreciate any input for this one.

Thank you in advance

Excel Facts

Which lookup functions find a value equal or greater than the lookup value?
MATCH uses -1 to find larger value (lookup table must be sorted ZA). XLOOKUP uses 1 to find values greater and does not need to be sorted.
Here's one way to do it:

ABCDEFGH
1A1Group 1Group 2Group 3Group 4
2B2IAJH
3C3GBLK
4D4CFNM
5E4PEOD
6F3
7G2
8H1
9I1
10J1
11K2
12L2
13M3
14N3
15O4
16P4

<colgroup><col style="width: 25pxpx"><col><col><col><col><col><col><col><col></colgroup><thead>
</thead><tbody>
</tbody>
Sheet2

Array Formulas
CellFormula
E2{=INDEX($A:$A,SMALL(IF(($B$1:$B$16=ROWS(E$2:E2))*(ISNA(MATCH($A$1:$A$16,F2:$I2,0))),ROW($B$1:$B$16)),RANDBETWEEN(1,COLUMNS($E2:E2))))}

<thead>
</thead><tbody>
</tbody>
Entered with Ctrl+Shift+Enter. If entered correctly, Excel will surround with curly braces {}.
Note: Do not try and enter the {} manually yourself

<tbody>
</tbody>

Enter the formula in E2 and confirm with Control-Shift-Enter. Then copy E2 and paste it across and down. Then just press F9 (recalculate) to get a new set of groups.