Read values from a row in one sheet and write them to a matched string in another sheets column

iandoc

Hi All,

I’ve been trying to write a script and whilst I’ve “sort of” learned some of the components I’d need I’m struggling to get going. I have no previous experience in VBA and whilst have some minor successes I’m a greenhorn self teaching programmer.
I haven’t been able to find an example close to what I am trying to do.

Workbook details:

The worksheet is to manage a Ballot draw for a local model railway club. Some members will only enter the ballot for 1 – 10 items while others may enter for many.

• I have two sheets
    • Sheet 1 has a header row and a blank row 2. Column A has the text “Lot 1” to “Lot 187” in cells A3:A189, column C is a formula random draw reading each row and columns E2 – AC189 will receive the data I need copied from Sheet 2
    • Sheet 2 has a header row.. Column A is “Member Name”, Columns B – FZ hold text submitted from a form (eg “Lot 1 3003 Class 24 w/tender” or “Lot 107 VTG Cylinder wagon”. Currently the smallest entry is for just one item while the largest is for 155 lots!
    • I can remove all Blanks from a row in sheet 2 using Selection.SpecialCells(xlBlanks).Delete shift:=xltoleft but as per above some rows have more cells populated than others.
NOTE! The Sheet1 Col A text is not matched exactly to the text from columns B – FZ in sheet 2. I’m assuming we can use LEFT([cellnum],6) but if the Lot is lot number 1 – 9 then the returned string potentially could be “Lot 1 3” as in “Lot 1 3003 Class 24 w/tender”. Is there a way instead search for a [space]. I could then REPLACE “Lot “ with “Lot_” thus allowing you to variably search out to the first space. That way you’d get just the Lot Number “Lot_1”, “Lot_21” or “Lot_121” from step 3a below

• I need the process to do the following …

• Start in Sheet 2 cell A2
  • Record the NAME in a variable (MemName)