Recording changing cell

GSP1976

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2019
Messages
6
Hi guys

I have been struggling to find a solution to an excel problem I have. As the title says I have a cell in my spreadsheet that is constantly changing "H10" and I would like to record this for the last 5 seconds at 1 second intervals. But this would be triggered to start recording with another cell "C82" which will contain a "0" and a "1" to activate the recording. There is also another cell which will works the same way as the start trigger( 0 and a 1) and this sell is "C83". The recording cells are listed below.

now = I77
1 second ago = H77
2 seconds ago = G77
3 seconds ago = F77
4 seconds ago = E77
5 seconds ago = D77

I would like that thank anyone who helps or gives advice in advance.
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Can you sort left to right?
To sort left-to-right, use the Sort dialog box. Click Options. Choose "Sort left to right"

James006

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
3,680
Hi,

The main issue is : HOW is the cell changed ...

Indeed... from your description ... one could draw the conclusion you are dealing with a Live feed ...

And a Live feed is a totally different issue ...
 

GSP1976

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2019
Messages
6
Hi,

The main issue is : HOW is the cell changed ...

Indeed... from your description ... one could draw the conclusion you are dealing with a Live feed ...

And a Live feed is a totally different issue ...
Hi James, thanks for replying

So, Im not sure if it is classed as a live feed as i dont know much about this but the spreadsheet is powered or populated from sports trading software called "bet angel". Which gets all its information through an API from Betfair.

thanks again for the help
 

James006

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
3,680
Hi again,

To find out ... you can add following event macro to your sheet's module

Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
If Target.Address <> "$H$10" Then Exit Sub
MsgBox " New Value ..."
End Sub
If when cell H10 changes ... you do get the message pop-up ...

you will know how the update is performed ...
 

GSP1976

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2019
Messages
6
Hi again,

To find out ... you can add following event macro to your sheet's module

Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
If Target.Address <> "$H$10" Then Exit Sub
MsgBox " New Value ..."
End Sub
If when cell H10 changes ... you do get the message pop-up ...

you will know how the update is performed ...
no pop up box, do i need to run this as a macro? I placed the code in the sheets "view code" thing, then saved both the VB window and the spreadsheet
 

James006

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
3,680
So ... can you test following

Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Calculate()
    If Target.Address <> "$H$10" Then Exit Sub
    MsgBox " New Value ..."
End Sub
to be stored in Sheet1 module ....( not in Standard Module 1 ...)
 

GSP1976

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2019
Messages
6
ive just tried it again, it shows a message box saying run time error or something of that nature.
 

James006

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
3,680
Well... not really ...

The problem you are facing is that the way your cell is updated .... does not trigger any event ...

To understand what I mean ... just test a manual input into cell H10 ...
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,099,574
Messages
5,469,475
Members
406,655
Latest member
pwilson06

This Week's Hot Topics

Top