Relationship with new table

cvasquez

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
21
I had a database with Contacts in it and tried to add to it but kept getting an error message so I just imported a new contact table and named it allContacts. Can I replace the former with the latter? Please see attached image for clarification. Thank you.


Untitled-1.jpg
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Using Function Arguments with nested formulas
If writing INDEX in Func. Arguments, type MATCH(. Use the mouse to click inside MATCH in the formula bar. Dialog switches to MATCH.

loopa1

Board Regular
Joined
Sep 3, 2006
Messages
156
The relationship is a "one to many".
Basically, what this relationship says is that a contact can have multiple calls, but a call can only have one contact.

Not sure why you can't enter data in you contact database anymore, but I suspect you'll have the same problem when you create the relationship again with AllContacts.

Not sure if you can just replace the original table with the new one - do you have any queries/forms/anything else set up to 'Contacts' because you'll have to reconfigure all of these if you do.
 

Norie

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2004
Messages
76,216
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
What error message(s) were you getting in the first place?

If you want to replace an existing table with a new table then you'll have to recreate all the relationships.

If the problem was adding to the original table then I don't really see how the new table will make a difference.

You should probably be looking at what current relationships you have set up.:)
 

cvasquez

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
21
Thank you both for the prompt replies.

What error message(s) were you getting in the first place?

If you want to replace an existing table with a new table then you'll have to recreate all the relationships.

If the problem was adding to the original table then I don't really see how the new table will make a difference.

You should probably be looking at what current relationships you have set up.:)
Untitled-2.jpg
 

loopa1

Board Regular
Joined
Sep 3, 2006
Messages
156
What are you trying to add/append in to the contacts table?

Can we see the data fields of your contacts table, and of your source table?
 

cvasquez

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
21
I just clicked yes and it imported everything. I now have everything I need in old Contacts and have deleted allContacts.

Thanks for the assistance.

Cheers
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,122,371
Messages
5,595,784
Members
414,020
Latest member
Meghdad

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top