Removing duplicates from a string accounting for commas

bioplz

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2021
Messages
15
Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
I am using a userform to that is populated from an excel sheet and modified from another userform. I used this code to remove duplicates, but it doesn't account for commas.

VBA Code:
Function Uniques(Text As String) As String
  Dim X As Long, Data() As String
  Data = Split(Text)
  With CreateObject("Scripting.Dictionary")
    [COLOR=#0000ff].CompareMode=1[/COLOR]
    For X = 0 To UBound(Data)
      .Item(Data(X)) = 1
    Next
    Uniques = Join(.keys)
  End With
End Function

Is there any easy way to account for commas?

For example: 10.1, 10.2, 10.3, 10.4, 10.1, 10.2, 10.3
output with this code is: 10.1, 10.2, 10.3, 10.4, 10.3 because there is no comma after the second 10.3 it does not register as a duplicate.

I want the output to remove the last number and the commas. So, essentially, I want the code to remove the number and any following commas.
 

Excel Facts

Can a formula spear through sheets?
Use =SUM(January:December!E7) to sum E7 on all of the sheets from January through December

Eric W

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Aug 18, 2015
Messages
12,422
I assume the comma is the delimiter, and the spaces are not part of the values (or in another way, the delimiter is ", "). So try:

VBA Code:
Function Uniques(Text As String) As String
  Dim X As Long, Data() As String
  Data = Split(Text, ",")
  With CreateObject("Scripting.Dictionary")
    .CompareMode = 1
    For X = 0 To UBound(Data)
      .Item(Trim(Data(X))) = 1
    Next
    Uniques = Join(.keys, ", ")
  End With
End Function
 
Solution

mohadin

Well-known Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
1,490
Office Version
  1. 2013
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi
Ty
VBA Code:
Function Uniques(Text As String) As String
  Dim X As Long, Data() As String
  Data = Split(Text, ",")
  With CreateObject("Scripting.Dictionary")
    .CompareMode = 1
    For X = 0 To UBound(Data)
      .Item(Trim(Data(X))) = 1
    Next
    Uniques = Join(.keys, ",")
  End With
End Function
 

mohadin

Well-known Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
1,490
Office Version
  1. 2013
Platform
  1. Windows
What
Seems same some how
Sorry Eric
 

Eric W

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Aug 18, 2015
Messages
12,422
No worries, mohadin! We both analyzed it and came up with the same solution. I'm sure you posted yours before you had seen that I had posted mine. At the very least, it's a validation of the basic concept.
 

bioplz

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2021
Messages
15
Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
I assume the comma is the delimiter, and the spaces are not part of the values (or in another way, the delimiter is ", "). So try:

VBA Code:
Function Uniques(Text As String) As String
  Dim X As Long, Data() As String
  Data = Split(Text, ",")
  With CreateObject("Scripting.Dictionary")
    .CompareMode = 1
    For X = 0 To UBound(Data)
      .Item(Trim(Data(X))) = 1
    Next
    Uniques = Join(.keys, ", ")
  End With
End Function
Beautiful. Thank you.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,171,509
Messages
5,875,933
Members
433,161
Latest member
CA_Raunak

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top