Renaming Charts/chart objects??

MrPez

Board Regular
Joined
Jan 28, 2010
Messages
128
I've got a chart embedded in a spreadsheet that is called 'Chart 1'.

I've got some code to run and set the trendline which seems to run ok.

Code:
Dim STPChart As Chart

Set STPChart = Worksheets("Detector1_Report").ChartObjects("Chart 1").Chart

With STPChart
    blah blah blah...
However, I don't really like having charts called 'Chart 1' as I find it more difficult for other people to decipher the code. If I change the chart object using
Code:
ActiveChart.Parent.Name = "STP"
it fails on the first line above with RTE '-2147024809 (80070057): This member can only be accessed for a chart object.'

[Note, I also change the 'Chart 1' to 'STP' in the problematic line.]

Is there some other way I ought to rename the chart? Trying directly from excel doesn't work for me (Excel 2010).
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Back into an answer in Excel
Use Data, What-If Analysis, Goal Seek to find the correct input cell value to reach a desired result

RoryA

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2008
Messages
35,105
Office Version
365, 2019, 2016, 2010
Platform
Windows, MacOS
Select the chart, then on the Layout tab in the Chart Tools group, rename it using the box on the right hand side.
 

MrPez

Board Regular
Joined
Jan 28, 2010
Messages
128
I swear I tried that earlier and the name wouldn't stick, but it seems to now.

Nonetheless I still get that error with
Code:
Set STPChart = Worksheets("Detector1_Report").ChartObjects("STP").Chart
 

RoryA

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2008
Messages
35,105
Office Version
365, 2019, 2016, 2010
Platform
Windows, MacOS
I don't know what to say - it works for me.
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,101,936
Messages
5,483,783
Members
407,410
Latest member
catherinejoy

This Week's Hot Topics

  • Finding issue in If elseif else with For each Loop
    Finding issue in If elseif else with For each Loop I have tried this below code but i'm getting in Y column filled with W005. Colud you please...
  • MsgBox Error
    Hi Guys, I have the below error show up when i try and run my macro in File1 but works fine if i copy and paste the same code into file2. [ATTACH...
  • CELL FORMAT - IF CONDITION
    My Cell Format is [B]""0.00" Cr". [/B]But in the cell, it is showing 123.00 for editing. (123 is entry figure). (Data imported from other...
  • Show numbers nearly the same
    Is this possible. I have a number that can change very time eg 0.00001234 Then I have a lot of numbers 0.0000001, 0.0000002, 0.00000004...
  • Please i need your help to create formula
    I need a formula in cell B8 to do this >>if b1=1 then multiply ( cell b8) by 10% ,if b1=2 multiply by 20%,if=3 multiply by 30%. Thank you in...
  • Got error while adding column and filter
    Got error while adding column and filter In column Z has some like "Success" and "Error". I want to add column in AA if the Z cell value is...
Top