Replacing the value of a cell with list validation where the list values are updated with an Excel formula

hwiderst

Hi there,
I'm a complete novice to VBA and therefore they question is probably stupid, but I have to start somewhere...

Background:
On worksheet "Order Generator"
I can select a product configuration in to cells: D11 colour of the product (black/white) D12 colour of accessories (black/red/white). This is done with a dropdown list validation to a list of the 3 options on another worksheet "Calculations".
The configurator will be used in multiple countries, so I need to translate all text incl. cell values (configurations) to English and French
I do this by adding 2 buttons with French and UK flags, where - depening on which button is pressed the value of cell E4 is set to "EN" or "FR. This in turn changes all cells by using HLOOKUPS to translation sheet.

Problem:
When language is changed the values of the validation lists on the Calculation sheet are changed from let's say "black/red/white" to "noir/rouge/blanc". The dropdown list is updated OK, but the actual cell value is not. I therefore thought I'd try some VBA code.
Since the validation list values are not changed manually or by VBA but rather via the HLOOKUP function I have understood it so that I cannot use Worksheet_Change and therefore throught Worksheet_Calculate could work.
I have managed to put together the following, that does not compile - but cannot see where I go wrong. Would really appreciate some help!!!

Private Sub Worksheet_Calculate()
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
Dim count_cells As Integer
Dim new_value As String
Dim old_value As String
Dim rng As Range
For count_cells = 1 To Range("A1").CurrentRegion.Rows.Count - 1
Set rng = Worksheets("Order Generator").Range("D12")
Application.EnableEvents = False
new_value = Range("A" & count_cells).Value
Application.Undo
old_value = Range("A" & count_cells).Value
Range("A" & count_cells).Value = new_value