Request for VBA code for importing multiple tab-delineated .txt files into Excel 2010

gmackey

Hello all,

Thank you for taking the time to review my request. I've been poking around the boards and Google trying to find a code that will work for what I'm trying to do. This forum has been very informative, but I'm not a programmer and I'm having trouble changing all the coding from the existing threads to fit my needs. Any help provided would be much appreciated, so thanks in advance to anyone willing to help out.

The Rub:
I have a system of equipment controlled by a master PLC unit that collects process data and stores in a tab delineated text file once per day. The data are recorded in 9 columns from various system components approximately every 5 seconds, providing data files with about 10,000 rows each. To stay in compliance with our permit, I need to import and process the data and submit a report once per month (31 data files). I have the data processing component nailed down, but could use some help on the import side.

Import Request:
The data are stored in rows with the date and time being the first column. I want to import 1 months worth of data from a single file folder. Ideally, the import function would either open a 'Select Files to Import' box, or just import all the files from a selected folder. Please include a provision in the code for the insertion point for the first data log (i.e. start import at A23). Each data file should be posted below the previous data file (i.e. continuing downwards, not horizontally) without column headers in a single (active) worksheet. The ideal result would be a continuous data log that starts at 00:00 am of the 1st file and continues through 23:59 pm of the last file in the folder.

Other info:
I'm using Excel 2010, so there should be no issues with capacity of rows. I posted a few rows of data from one of the files to show what it looks like.