Return 2nd most recent value

csliger931

Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Newbie here. I am looking for a function that will return the 2nd most recent value for a specified parameter. For example, lets say I am trying to calculate the Cycle Rate for certain Wells at a landfill. In order to do this, I need to take the most recent cycle count (Xn), subtract the 2nd most recent cycle count (Xn-1), and divide all of that by the elapsed time (Daten - Daten-1). The problem is that I have a massive amount of dates/values, and a lot of wells. So, if I want to calculate the cycle rate for Well "A", I don't know a formula for looking up the second most recent cycle count
(Xn-1) for A. I'm pretty sure I can use the MATCH INDEX function for returning the most recent cycle count for Well "A", but I'm not sure about 2nd most recent. Any tips/helps would be appreciated. I am not against doing a Macro, but my Macro skills are non-existent, so I would prefer a function/nested function if there is one. Thanks!!!

Excel Facts

Square and cube roots
The =SQRT(25) is a square root. For a cube root, use =125^(1/3). For a fourth root, use =625^(1/4).
Welcome to the forum, it will help to get an answer if you provide a sample of your data and show what results you are after.
Use the XL2BB option to post the sample data.

Upvote 0
Unfortunately our work Administrator has blocked add-ins to Excel, but I have attached an image with the values that I want highlighted. I've also included a table below (the desired values that I want the function to retrieve are in the last column...I want it to pull the 2nd most recent Cycle Count for the specified well ( 3 for LW-A and 6 for LW-B) ). Thanks!
WELLDATECYCLE COUNTWELL2ND MOST RECENT CYCLE COUNT
LW-A7/16/20

LW-B

7/12/20

LW-A3

LW-A

7/12/20

LW-B6

LW-B

7/15/20

LW-C

7/17/20

LW-A

7/18/20

Attachments

• MrExcel.JPG
    MrExcel.JPG
    94 KB · Views: 7
Upvote 0
Try