Return a Blank if Error OR 0

The_T

New Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2018
Messages
31
Hi guys,

Wondering if anybody a help with the following:

I am currently using the following formula to return blanks when an error results from 'E25' being blank:

=IFERROR(VLOOKUP(E25,'WORKSHEET'!$A$1:$S$1000,19,FALSE,"")

However, when E25 is not blank but row '19' in '$A$1:$S$1000' has no results, the formula returns a '0'.

In the case of there being no result to return, I'd like there also to be a blank (and for there to only not be a blank when there is a result to return - 'YES or 'NO' being the only 2 returnable options in this case).

I have tried OR and AND formulae but with no success.

I'm tired so maybe I have missed something.

Any help would be much appreciated.
 

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
32,030
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
How about
=IF(VLOOKUP(E25,WORKSHEET!$A$1:$S$1000,19,FALSE)=0,"",IFERROR(VLOOKUP(E25,WORKSHEET!$A$1:$S$1000,19,FALSE),""))
 

steve the fish

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2009
Messages
7,778
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
Hi Fluff. That would error before the iferror ever had its chance. Maybe wrap the if rather than the vlookup.

=IFERROR(IF(VLOOKUP(E25,WORKSHEET!$A$1:$S$1000,19,FALSE)=0,"",VLOOKUP(E25,WORKSHEET!$A$1:$S$1000,19,FALSE)),"")
 

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
32,030
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
Excellent point, I obviously wasn't thinking clearly :banghead:
 

steve the fish

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2009
Messages
7,778
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
I forget to think all the time :)

You could also do this if the lookup is producing text results:

=IFERROR(""&VLOOKUP(E25,WORKSHEET!$A$1:$S$1000,19,FALSE),"")
 

The_T

New Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2018
Messages
31
Hi guys, thanks a lot for the replies.

Will give both options a go and get back to you!
 

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
32,030
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
Don't bother trying my suggestion from post#2, as Steve pointed out it won't always work.
 

The_T

New Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2018
Messages
31
Thanks for your help guys.

Steve the Fish - Your solution works perfectly. You are clearly either a genius or some sort of divine entity.

Cheers!
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,081,657
Messages
5,360,291
Members
400,580
Latest member
Drexl88

Some videos you may like

This Week's Hot Topics

  • VBA (Userform)
    Hi All, I just would like to know why my code isn't working. Here is my VBA code: [CODE=vba]Private Sub OKButton_Click() Dim i As Integer...
  • List box that changes fill color
    Hello, I have gone through so many pages trying to figure this out. I have a 2020 calendar that depending on the day needs to have a certain...
  • Remove duplicates and retain one. Cross-linked cases
    Hi all I ran out of google keywords to use and still couldn't find a reference how to achieve the results of a single count. It would be great if...
  • VBA Copy and Paste With Duplicates
    Hello All, I'm in need of some input. My VBA skills are sub-par at best. I've assembled this code from basic research and it works but is...
  • Macro
    is it possible for a macro to run if the active cell value is different to the value above it
  • IF DATE and TIME
    I currently use this to check if date has passed but i also need to set a time on it too. Is it possible? [CODE=vba]=IF(B:B>TODAY(),"Not...
Top