Return date and time of last entry made by each person

Tashat

Board Regular
Joined
Jan 12, 2005
Messages
53
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello All

Thank you for the help I've received on here so far. Absolutely awesome forum. I'm using Excel 365.

I have two tables below

Table 1: Contact details
Table 2: Order details

In column D (highlighted green), I want to lookup from Table 2, what the most recent (last entry, by date and time) that each person made into the order table and show that time in column D alongside their name.

So for example in cell D2 for Joe Bloggs, it would automatically return "03/10/2020 19:15:25" as the date and time of Joe's last entry. I'd be very grateful for the support.


NameEmailTelLatest Entry Date/TimDate/TimeNameData 1Data 2Data 3
Joe BloggsJoebloggs@whatever.com123401/10/2020 15:42:23Joe BloggsHappy12yes
Amy GeeAmy Gee@whatever.com1531202/10/2020 10:22:03Amy GeeHappy45yes
Helen WaterHelen Water@whatever.com152313202/10/2020 10:31:14Helen WaterExcited1No
Sam FranksSam Franks@whatever.com153102/10/2020 10:48:54Sam FranksMiserable564No
Richard OsgoodRichard Osgood@whatever.com1534502/10/2020 11:02:13David SmithAngry43yes
Tom PondTom Pond@whatever.com8645102/10/2020 11:12:16Richard OsgoodAnxious54No
Charlie NewCharlie New@whatever.com1587602/10/2020 14:41:23Lexi TracyHappy74No
02/10/2020 17:36:25Charlie NewMiserable23No
03/10/2020 17:57:18Tom PondHappy75No
03/10/2020 19:12:52Charlie NewAnxious1yes
03/10/2020 19:15:25Joe BloggsHappy7No
03/10/2020 22:09:52Amy GeeHappy4No
03/10/2020 22:18:01Amy GeeHappy43yes
03/10/2020 22:49:00Naomi ChillcottMiserable1No
04/10/2020 08:00:41Helen WaterHappy74yes
04/10/2020 08:01:25Sam FranksAnxious36No
04/10/2020 11:36:17Richard OsgoodHappy4yes
04/10/2020 12:17:57Tom PondHappy643yes
04/10/2020 12:52:59Charlie NewMiserable24No
04/10/2020 13:08:12Lexi TracyHappy1yes
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

How can you automate Excel?
Press Alt+F11 from Windows Excel to open the Visual Basic for Applications (VBA) editor.

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
48,311
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
If table 2 is always sorted on date/time, how about
Excel Formula:
=XLOOKUP(A2,$G$2:$G$21,$F$2:$F$21,"",0,-1)
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,114,355
Messages
5,547,443
Members
410,792
Latest member
Jabberwokki
Top