Runtime Error 1004 when trying to add a new variable

Rufi

Disclaimer: I'm a programming newbie who inherited a very scarey looking spreadsheet to maintain. My methods may horrify you.

Ok, I'm trying to add fuctionality to a workbook that is used to generate gradesheets for various training programs. Now how it works is that there are spreadsheets for each syllabus. One macro loads all the text data to a working sheet for the entire syllabus, while another moves the data relevant to a specific event to the final grade sheet.

Not knowing visual basic, I was able to get the macro to move from working data to the final sheet to work by just adding a new line of code cut and pasted from above with soem feilds and variable name changes.

My problem comes from tryig to use th same technique to move from the raw data to the working data. I've added lines and varialbles, but get a run time error whenever I try to run it.

Here is the function I'm working on:

Rich (BB code):
Sub change_track()
    my_x = Sheets("Admin").Range("msel_Course").Value
    my_y = Sheets("Admin").Range("msel_flysim").Value
    what_syllabus_sheet = Sheets("Admin").Range("tbl_course").Cells(my_x, my_y + 2).Value
    what_track_range = Sheets("Admin").Range("tbl_course").Cells(my_x, my_y + 4).Value
    what_cts_range = Sheets("Admin").Range("tbl_course").Cells(my_x, my_y + 6).Value
    'read sorties into working column on admin page
    Set sl = Sheets("Admin").Range("list_sorties")
    Set tdl = Sheets("Admin").Range("list_training_day")
    Set mtl = Sheets("Admin").Range("list_mission_type")
    Set al = Sheets("Admin").Range("list_airspace")
    Set tl = Sheets("Admin").Range("list_time")
    Set macl = Sheets("Admin").Range("list_msn_aircraft")
    Set mreql = Sheets("Admin").Range("list_msn_req")
    Set ovrl = Sheets("Admin").Range("list_ovr") 'this line gives me the error

sl.ClearContents
    tdl.ClearContents
    mtl.ClearContents
    al.ClearContents
    tl.ClearContents