Saving Changes To An Excel Worksheet Automatically

Jenn78

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2006
Messages
5
i need to set my excel sheets up to beable to replace itsself without a box
prompting me can someone plzzzzzzzzz help?
for example my sheet is a game sheet.when I play my first game I hit a
certain button and it creates a certain folder on my hard drive this folder
is for certain excel sheets but when i go to do another round on the same
excel sheet its suppose to auto replace the first round in that folder.but
instead when I hit the button a box pops up asking if i wanna replace the
first one.
 

Excel Facts

Square and cube roots
The =SQRT(25) is a square root. For a cube root, use =125^(1/3). For a fourth root, use =625^(1/4).

shajueasow

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2004
Messages
1,926
Welcome to the board.
Can you post the code plz.
Or try in your code the following line in the just before you give in the value:
Application.DisplayAlerts=False
But this will prevent the display of alerts of any kind. So use it carefully.
If not, posting your code might help in getting exactly what you want.
 

Jenn78

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2006
Messages
5
I didn't create these sheets tho they are designed to automatically do this or is there a place in my software to put this in?
 

shajueasow

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2004
Messages
1,926
Cannot say more without knowing on what your game is how it is coded and so on.
 

Smitty

Legend
Joined
May 15, 2003
Messages
29,536

ADVERTISEMENT

Welcome to the Board!

In your save code you can use:

Code:
Application.DisplayAlerts = False
  ActiveWorkbook.Save 
Application.DisplayAlerts = True

HTH,

Smitty
 

Jenn78

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2006
Messages
5
I tryed this and it says it can't find something.I went to "TOOLS" "OPTIONS" then the "SAVE" tab is this right?
I'm very lost with this problem.Could it be a setting in my folder options somewhere maybe?I have windows xp
 

Smitty

Legend
Joined
May 15, 2003
Messages
29,536

ADVERTISEMENT

I tryed this and it says it can't find something.I went to "TOOLS" "OPTIONS" then the "SAVE" tab is this right?
I'm very lost with this problem.Could it be a setting in my folder options somewhere maybe?I have windows xp

Sorry, what I posted is VBA code. You won't find it in Tools-->Options. I assumed from what you were saying that you had some code in your project?

Regardless, without VBA, you won't be able to get rid of the Save As Overwrite prompt.

Smitty

(Note that I'm outta here for a flight north and won't be able to check in until tomorrow evening at the earliest, so if I don't respond it's not because I'm being rude. ;))
 

Jenn78

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2006
Messages
5
Thanks for the advice :)
I did not create this sheet tho_Others use these sheets as well on their own
computers and never gets this prompt.Thats why I am stumped at why I get it.
 

shajueasow

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2004
Messages
1,926
Might be because i their computers the Macro Security (Tools>Macro>Security) is set to LOW.
My opinion is that it is not a safe thing to keep your security level to LOW. It allows any code to be run without your permission.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,136,612
Messages
5,676,796
Members
419,651
Latest member
alexanderguhr

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top