Search One Column of Worksheet for multiple different partial texts, and if found post a respective value in the same row, one column further

karp1

Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
Hi Everyone! I am a beginner to macros and just received help on another question here. I would like to adjust the code however, and have been struggling a lot. I just wrote a macro which compiles data from different workbooks into one compiled data workbook. This compiled data is structured as follows:
Item NameMeasured ValueSource File Name
AXPatient1.xls
BXPatient1.xls
CXPatient1.xls
AXPatient2.xls
BXPatient2.xls
CXPatient2.xls
AXPatient3.xls

Thanks again to Fluff for helping me get to this point!

I would now like to look at the column "Source File Name" and find multiple partial texts. If this partial text is found, I would like it to post text in Column D with a respective text. For example, I would want it to look through and find file names containing Patient1, Patient3, Patient7, and Patient5. If any one of these is present I would like the program to print "Control" in column D. However, if the program finds file names containing Patient2 or Patient4 it should print "Test". And if the program finds file names Patient6 or Patient8 it should print "Placebo".

The code I have for the compiling of the workbooks into one is as follows:

Sub DataTransposingMrExcel()
Dim strP As String, strF As String
Dim Wbk As Workbook
Dim Ws As Worksheet

strP = "Z:\User\Macro\DataFolder" 'Location of your data which has been put into the template
strF = Dir(strP & "\*.xls")

If strF <> "" Then
Set Wbk = Workbooks.Open("Z:\User\Macro\CompiledData.xlsx")
Set Ws = Wbk.Sheets("Sheet1")
End If

Do While strF <> vbNullString
Workbooks.Open (strP & "\" & strF)
Sheets("Sheet1").Range("L1:CZ1").Copy
Ws.Range("A" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp).Offset(1).PasteSpecial xlPasteValues, , , True
Sheets("Sheet1").Range("L3:CZ3").Copy
With Ws.Range("B" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp)