Send email when a new row is added ...

adambc

Office Version
  1. 2019
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
During my career, I considered my self a reasonably advanced Excel user (I'm pretty proficient in using eg Pivot Tables, complex formulas, etc), but I never used Power Query and certainly not VBA - I'm now retired and recently starting volunteering for a local charity, helping them to make better use of Excel to manipulate their data into the reports they need internally and for external reporting. I've already/succesfully mastered Power Query to reshape some external data and merge it with internal data, but I now find myself in the world of VBA - but I've never done any "coding" before, so I'm on a very steep learning curve!!!

The use case/requirements are ...

We have an "Incident Log" held in Excel, that consists of an individual record (row) for each incident and around 20 columns (some based on drop down lists, others free format). I've built a macro in VBA which sits behind a custom button on the ribbon, that emails a person named in one of the columns a subset of the column values FOR THE LAST ROW in the table. This works fine, but it relies on the operator remembering to click the button after they have finished adding a new record, before they add another new record.

What I would really like to do is have the macro determine how many new records have been added to the log when the log is saved and then create/send a separate email for each new record (each incident is unique and the person named/to whom the email has to go could be different for every incident) - but I am at the absolute limit of my newly learned VBA skills and am struggling with i) is this even possible and ii) if it is, how/what does the VBA code look like?