Sequences in Excel - The Nth Term

Futile Crush

Hey guys. I'm new to the Mr Excel message board, I just came out because I had a question that interested me.

Sequences. Those lovely little chains going up by a certain number, like 1, 2, 3, 4 ... or 2, 4, 6, 8 ... or 5, 3, 1, -1 ... they have a common term that dictates the sequence. For example, a simple sequence like 1, 2, 3, 4, is N, or the number. A sequence like 2, 3, 4, 5 is N+1, because, say that N was 1, 1+1 is 2, which is the first number in the sequence, then the 2nd number in the sequence is 2+1, which is 3.

Then, there're sequences like N squared, 1, 4, 9, 16 and so on. 1 squared is 1, 2 squared is 4, 3 squared is 9, 4 squared is 16, etcetera. The difference is calculated by working out the difference between the numbers, then working out the difference between the differences, for example, 1+3=4, 4+5=9, 5-3=2. Then, that 2 is halved and put on the front of N2 (n squared), so it's 1N2, or N2.

Anyway, that's the basic maths behind it, for the people like Excelisfun / Mike who claim to have fallen out of it down to all his Excelling, and here's the question.

Can this be done in Excel?

If I were to set up a simple table with 1, 2, 3, 4 ... up to 10 going along the columns, is there anyway to set up a formula in each of the cells below to specify an Nth term and generate a sequence. For instance, if there was some way to input "N squared" or POWER(*cell*,2), but also have that cell set up so that virtually any Nth term could be inputted from another cell or other sheet and it would generate the sequence. Would I need to use multiple cells with drop-down lists? Should I be using nested IFs or set up another cell where a code number can be put in and the IF will put in a certain Nth term based on values then entered? I dunno, I was hoping somebody could help me with this.

If anyone can offer any insights, that'd be greatly appreciated. Thanks :)

Excel Facts

Ambidextrous Undo