Shortcut tool bar for macros: Good Advice (and no bugs if i do?)

Spyros13

Board Regular
Joined
Mar 12, 2014
Messages
105
Hi there all. Firstly, Happy Christmas all!! Hope you really enjoy it.

Secondly,

I waa planning to wrap up my year by incorporating buttons into my worksheets for faster and effortless use and activation of all the cool macro's i have found and developed over the years, here. ( As well as putting some buttons in for the array formulas).

As per https://support.office.com/en-us/article/Assign-a-macro-to-a-button-728c83ec-61d0-40bd-b6ba-927f84eb5d2c

Question is, is this good sound advice? I hope so. Reason I ask is when im using some of these macro's i plan to embed/have a button for, simple tasks such as ctrl+f for find/replace dont work on my sheets. I've noticed other normal process desruptions when after ive run a few macro's which wouldnt help in my efficiency using excel next year. Last thing I want is to ruin/destroy my version of Excel coz I need it for my work.

Anyway. If anyone wants to pass comment or has any advice/tips/experience having done and eventually successfully/unsuccessfully tried similar, I would be intregued/grateful.

Yours,

Spyros
 

Spyros13

Board Regular
Joined
Mar 12, 2014
Messages
105
Re: Shortcut tool bar for macro's: Good Advice (and no bugs if i do?)

1st snag: I cant seem to be able to unhide my workbook. (on openng excel from scratch). Is that becuase I am the owner and therefore that is a personal workbook?! Oh Gosh. I thnk ill do this in the morning / or when I'm less busy.
 

Spyros13

Board Regular
Joined
Mar 12, 2014
Messages
105
Re: Shortcut tool bar for macro's: Good Advice (and no bugs if i do?)

Well, ive created my personal workbook, and have macros stored in it now . I also added a new tab/menu, and 3 buttons for faster execution of what I want. .... Then I wanted to make my (or cough cough, "the") UDF's universal as well. Create an add-on it said. save it as a excel add-in anywhere. then activate it. did that, but my udf funtion does come up but doesnt work as if when i copy-pasted it into new module and ran it. It just returns "0". Im gonna shut down and restart. All the other functions work, but the udf as an add-in, even when i write it in the formular tool bar, works upto th poiint of existing. But it doesnt work as it should . Will fix this .
 

Spyros13

Board Regular
Joined
Mar 12, 2014
Messages
105
Re: Shortcut tool bar for macro's: Good Advice (and no bugs if i do?)

Well, ive created my personal workbook, and have macros stored in it now . I also added a new tab/menu, and 3 buttons for faster execution of what I want. .... Then I wanted to make my (or cough cough, "the") UDF's universal as well. Create an add-on it said. save it as a excel add-in anywhere. then activate it. did that, but my udf funtion does come up but doesnt work as if when i copy-pasted it into new module and ran it. It just returns "0". Im gonna shut down and restart. All the other functions work, but the udf as an add-in, even when i write it in the formular tool bar, works upto th poiint of existing. But it doesnt work as it should . Will fix this .
Ok, I love talking to myself (!) Lol, but no, this is serious and im getting somewhere with help from:

Link 1: https://daveriskit.wordpress.com/2014/12/13/excel-global-user-defined-functions/

(ill go to/try Link2: vba - How do I add a User Defined Function to Excel? - Stack Overflow if this doesnt work)

My path for my Global Functions file (an .xlam file) containing the previously macro-enabled worksheets UDF Macro is C:\USERS\MYUSERPROFILENAME\DOCUMENTS\GLOBAL FUNCTIONS.XLAM . That sounds right going by link 1.

Im now at the only place in my comp I can see it, via Excel>Options>Add-Inns. I can see it, and press ok. Hopefully this will do it and enable me to see it in Add-in Manger in Ecel Macro View.
 

Spyros13

Board Regular
Joined
Mar 12, 2014
Messages
105
Re: Shortcut tool bar for macro's: Good Advice (and no bugs if i do?)

Guys !!! It F-in Worked !!! Yippee !! I don't know what I did, but restarted excel and all occurances of my attempts at embedding this UDF into Excel appeared ready for me to use !! It Must be Some Magic To do with writing on this forum/board !!! Thank you all anyway !!!! It worked !!! :) :) Thank you for existing! Dont know what I would have done wirthout you!!
 

tygrrboi

Well-known Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2015
Messages
1,196
Re: Shortcut tool bar for macro's: Good Advice (and no bugs if i do?)

What an adventure! :)
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,081,981
Messages
5,362,533
Members
400,679
Latest member
alecalec202

Some videos you may like

This Week's Hot Topics

  • populate from drop list with multiple tables
    Hi All, i have a drop list that displays data, what i want is when i select one of those from the list to populate text from different tables on...
  • Find list of words from sheet2 in sheet1 before a comma and extract text vba
    Hi Friends, Trying to find the solution on my task. But did not find suitable one to the need. Here is my query and sample file with details...
  • Dynamic Formula entry - VBA code sought
    Hello, really hope one of you experts can help with this - i've spent hours on this and getting no-where. .I have a set of data (more rows than...
  • Listbox Header
    Have a named range called "AccidentsHeader" Within my code I have: [CODE]Private Sub CommandButton1_Click() ListBox1.RowSource =...
  • Complex Heat Map using conditional formatting
    Good day excel world. I have a concern. Below link have a list of countries that carries each country unique data. [URL...
  • Conditional formatting
    Hi good morning, hope you can help me please, I have cells P4:P54 and if this cell is equal to 1 then i want row O to say "Fully Utilised" and to...
Top