Simple Dynamic Array Formula Question

RICH937

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. Mobile
I'm a Dynamic Array newbie, and this question is more about formula structure than needing help. I have a dynamic array (DK4#) that I wanted to sum the values entered in the 4th column. Based on my understanding of new/old dynamic array formulas, these two formulas should produce the same results:

SUMIFS(CHOOSECOLS(DK4#,4),CHOOSECOLS(DK4#,1),DK4)
SUMIFS(INDEX(DK4#,,4),INDEX(DK4#,,1),DK4)

However, the first formula returns an error (value#), but the second works fine. Anyone know what makes excel see them as different?

Excel Facts

Does the VLOOKUP table have to be sorted?
No! when you are using an exact match, the VLOOKUP table can be in any order. Best-selling items at the top is actually the best.
Index returns a Range object although most people only ever use the value in the range being returned.
(Note: XLookup also returns a Range Object although normally in common use only a single cell)
In VBA you could use Index or XLookup to get the address of what they find)
ChooseCols return an array and not a range.

Why that is important is because SumIfs will only work with Ranges and not Arrays.
So it is fine with Index but won't handle an ChooseCols (or any other array formula).

1685187979125.png

Just to see what it can look like

1685188253268.png

Upvote 0
Solution
If you want to use ChooseCols then you could use this instead:
Excel Formula:
SUM(CHOOSECOLS(DK4#,4) * (CHOOSECOLS(DK4#,1) = DK4))

Upvote 0