Simple VBA Question

TB

Board Regular
This is a simple question, I have just never had to do it (because I am a self-taught amateur VBA'er). I have code that is stalling and I can't' seem to figure out where it is getting caught up. I know that there is a way I can run my code line-by-line so that I can figure out where the hang up is, I just don't know how.

Help????

Excel Facts

Can you sort left to right?
To sort left-to-right, use the Sort dialog box. Click Options. Choose "Sort left to right"
Are you able to post your code, so that we can see what is causing your problem?

Upvote 0
You can step through code using F8.

You can also set up breakpoints in the code by pressing F9.

How is the code stalling? Are you getting errors?

Upvote 0
I can, but it is a quite lengthy and I am sure if I print it and dig into it I will find the problem. I was just thinking that I really DO need to learn how to run my code line by line (seems like a VBA 101 request, I know). That is why I posted the question. Can you help? If so, I would really appreciate it.

Upvote 0
Thanks, Norie!

No, I am not getting errors. I think it is stuck in a neverending loop (program doesn't stop - just runs forever). The code was fine until recently. I think I must have accidentally hit a key on my keyboard before saving the code and didn't realize it. I am sure that I will find it soon.

When stepping through the code, when do I press F8 - after clicking run or just click F8 and that will get it going?

Thanks!

Upvote 0
Put the cursor somewhere within the code and press F8.

By the way this will step through every line of code and every iteration of any loops.

Upvote 0
Great, Norie. It is working for me already (I think I am beginning to identify part of the problem).

As, always - thanks!

Upvote 0

Forum statistics

Threads
Members
Latest member
kennimack

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.