So simple but it just doesn't work!

Peterfallen

I'm new to Macros and working with a training tutorial, and there's a really simple problem, I just cannot figure out. I feel so stupid asking but i need help.

Here's my code.

So... I copied and pasted the line currently ' - which works fine
But when I type the line, I get an "Unable to get SpecialCells property of the Range class" error.

Please help me.

Sub get_blanks()

Selection.CurrentRegion.Select

Selection.SpecialCells(x1CellTypeBlanks).Select
'Selection.SpecialCells(xlCellTypeBlanks).Select

End Sub

Excel Facts

When they said...
When they said you are going to "Excel at life", they meant you "will be doing Excel your whole life".
Hi & welcome to MrExcel
Your first line has X1 (number 1) rather than Xl (lower case L)

Last edited:
Upvote 0
OMG.... thank you!
By the way, since you are apparently typing the SpecialCells constants long-hand, you can save yourself some typing by omitting "CellType" text within the constant's name. These will both will cause the SpecialCells function to produce the same result...

Selection.SpecialCells(xlCellTypeBlanks).Select

Selection.SpecialCells(xlBlanks).Select

You can also omit the "CellType" text from each of the other possible SpecialCells arguments as well.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Or if being really lazy..

Code:
Selection.SpecialCells(4).Select

Upvote 0
Or if being really lazy..

Code:
Selection.SpecialCells(4).Select
Personally, I hate "magic numbers" as they can be hard to remember or figure out 6 months from now when you need to modify the code for some reason.

Upvote 0
Hi Rick, personally I don't treat them as "magic numbers" but rather just enumeration, but that is probably because I am so used to using specialcells.