Sort issue - multiple tables using vlookup or index/match

lolbint

hi

I'm pretty new to both tables, VLOOKUP and INDEX/MATCH

I have four tables in separate workbooks, I have made them tables as my brother has been helping me to add pivot tables to analyse the data quickly when I come to end of season reports

I have now played around with adding VLOOKUP or INDEX/MATCH to pull repeated data across to each table rather than me manually inputting it each time, which is how I have done it in the past

I have given each record a unique ID but the problem I am getting is the sort order of the first table is defining the sort order for all the other tables, when I try and sort any column on the other tables it just doesn't work, it won;t work for me if I always have to change the source table order as sometimes I want to sort by columns

I am also having an issue on second table where I have filled dates into cells in a column that is unique to that table but when I sort the source table in a new way say by vehicle reg rather than unique ID those dates stay in the same place and don;t move with the ID they should stay with. It also seems to create multiple entries of same ID in second table when I sort source table in a different way

I ahve tried both VLOOKUP and INDEX/MATCH formulas and I get same problems with both, I have made sure my VLOOKUP has fourth argument of FALSE so its doing exact matchs. I have just tried removing blank rows from my table, now have separate issue that when I add a row to source table it doesn't add that row to second table!

Sorry my knowledge is basic, I may not be trying to do stuff correctly any hints/tips/pointers gratefully received

Table 1 Example of source table
ID
Registration
Driver Name
Hirer
Loler
Defect Report
VN04 VCA
Lauren
DVR
1/3/19
W644 RHY
Dave
Priority
EA59 KSO
Tim
DVR
OU51 FGH
Kate
SHB

<tbody>
</tbody>

Table 2 example

ID
Registration
Driver
Hirer
Data
VN04 VCA
Lauren
DVR
y
W644 RHY
Dave
Priority
n
EA59 KSO
Tim
DVR
y