Sorting grouped rows

melpotter22

Office Version
  1. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
I created a workbook where I took orders and separately entered items all under the same persons name. I figured out how to group all of the information, but I am now trying to sort the data and I cannot figure it out (I am not an excel expert...I am simply a volunteer for a PTO trying to do a fundraiser, so speak simply if you respond please! lol!) I want to be able to organize it alphabetically, and then be able to sort by payment method.
Screenshot 2021-11-29 220023.jpg

Excel Facts

Bring active cell back into view
Start at A1 and select to A9999 while writing a formula, you can't see A1 anymore. Press Ctrl+Backspace to bring active cell into view.
Welcome to the board!

Sorting data in that format is a nightmare. I don't think I could do it. But I'll give you an easy alternative way: Create a pivot table from your data.

First of all you're going to have to manipulate your data to get all the names & payment methods ( basically all the info you might want to sort / slice your data by ) on each and every row. I'd use Power Query to do this but you should be able to do it manually as well:
First select the name columns and make sure the cell format is General (basically anything other than text should do). And even before that you might want to save your file with another filename just to make sure your data is safe even if you happened to mess up.
Then you should select Blanks from the Go To Special dialog found under the Find & Select -menu on your Home tab of the ribbon (or shortcut Ctrl + G followed by Alt + S and Alt + K ). If your empty cells are actually empty they all should be selected by now. To fill them with the value from the cell above type "=" and click the cell above your active cell. Press Ctrl + Enter to fill your selection with the formula.
You can do several colunmns at a time if you click Ctrl when you select them.