Stacking Data From Multiple Columns Into One.

Alfonso_01

Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
Good morning All,

I am fairly new to excel and just got into working with functions. I've been struggling to find a solutions to my problem and thought maybe someone with more knowledge cold help me out. Currently have a list of different tools we use around work and I placed checkmarks next to them (they are linked to the cell right behind them) so we could check off any tools that we find missing. What I want to happen is: whenever someone does have a missing tool and they check the box, i want all the missing tools to auto populate into a list on a different work sheet. Was attempting to use filter function and a combination of filter choose and index but when i do, the data is displayed in rows instead of columns or i get an error code. Any help would be much appreciated.

Capture 2.PNG

Excel Facts

Format cells as date
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+3 to format cells as date. (Shift 3 is the # sign which sort of looks like a small calendar).
I'm new too...but...
You can use a pivot table to do what you want with some alterations.
Assuming your hidden columns are "true/false" for the conditional formatting auto highlight when you select the check box...
Just add another column. So if true/false is column K, then column L can be "=K10"

Not sure why that works best but it worked for me as the true/false column left me with blanks on the pivot table.
Once on the pivot table, you can put column L which I titled "List" in the "filter section and choose to only view true (which is your missing items)
Then put Column E, which I titled "Tool" into the ROW section and voila!

You have a list of your missing tools...all you have to do is hit "Refresh All" button on the Data tab anytime a change is made for the pivot table to update.

At least that was my work around....

Upvote 0

Forum statistics

Threads
Members
Latest member
RandomExceller01