Structure of Financial Forecast Model in PowerPivot

pwc86

Hello all, I am relatively new at PowerPivot and am trying to convert my excel 2007 spreadsheet based financial model to a more user friendly model in PowerPivot. The model is for a company that has multiple departments and is to be a 20-year forecast. The costs can change annually based on the following user inputted changes:

- Inflationary Changes (broken down by account, eg. 4% for salaries and wages, 3% for fuel, 2% for materials, etc.)
- Volume Changes (also broken down by account, changes that arise from a growing company)
- Capital Induced Changes (changes arising from acquiring/disposing of capital)
- Fixed Dollar Changes (changes to costs that are not percentage based)

I have brought in my account structure, department structure, prior year actuals and current budget but I am having a hard time figuring out what should be calculated in the source data/spreadsheet, as calculated columns and/or as a calculated field.

It may be best to start with the inflationary changes and then I can attempt the rest once I have these costs modeled. I previously had this calculating as such:

1. Table 1 - identifies the Inflation Driver and the appropriate % change for each year. (note: the years are the column headers)
Inflation Driver
Salaries - Admin1.021.021.02
Salaries - Management1.041.041.03
Fuel1.031.031.02

<tbody>
</tbody>

2. Table 2 - assigns an inflation driver to each account in each department (because items like the wage increases may be different for each department, for example sake I have used Admin and Management for the departments)
Account
Admin
Management
Salaries and WagesSalaries - AdminSalaries - Management
FuelFuelFuel

<tbody>
</tbody>

3. Table 3 - using index/match I would multiply the previous years amount by the appropriate driver for the current year.