!!!Stupid Text to Columns question!!!

Frans Scheepers

Board Regular
Joined
Apr 21, 2006
Messages
127
Hi There

This might be a stupid one but it has me baffeld. Why is it that when you do a text to column convertion it so happens that when you paste another set of data in the same workbook that it is automatically delimited.

I found that when I delimit a set of data using : as the delimiter and the paste another set of data that also contains : it is delimited automatically by excel.

This is anoying because I have to close Excel down after each delimit action I do to stop it from delimiting automatically.

Is there a way of stopping it from doing this?
 

Excel Facts

Move date out one month or year
Use =EDATE(A2,1) for one month later. Use EDATE(A2,12) for one year later.

Norie

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2004
Messages
76,303
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Frans

If you goto Paste Special and select All the text to columns doesn't appear to occur.

Note I've only tested when this is done manually, not in code.
 

erik.van.geit

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 1, 2003
Messages
17,832

ADVERTISEMENT

Hi,

the only way I know is
select some data (doesn't matter what)
Text To Columns/ clear all delimiters in last box
OK
now paste your data

you could record a macro while "clearing" and assign this to a button before picking another dataset

kind regards,
Erik
 

Norie

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2004
Messages
76,303
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Frans

Perhaps you could give us some more information on what you are actually trying to achieve?:)
 

Dufus

Board Regular
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
176

ADVERTISEMENT

Frans Scheepers,

This may be a stupid question but, why do you have to stop it?

Dufus
 

erik.van.geit

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 1, 2003
Messages
17,832
say you have a text
aze:rty:uio
you do text to columns, delimiter is semicolon :))

next time you have
aze rty uio
aze:rty uio

Frans wants to use the space as delimiter; for the first item there is no problem, but the data of the second item are put into two columns automatically since there is a semicolon
 

Norie

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2004
Messages
76,303
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Frans wants to use the space as delimiter
Erik

I'm I missing something, because I can't see where Frans mentions delimiting by a space.:eek:
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,141,480
Messages
5,706,638
Members
421,460
Latest member
Taamrak

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top