SUMIFS/COUNTIFS not smart enough

Griffin13d

Hello, Mr Excel people. I am wondering if either SUMIFS or COUNTIFS are either do not have the ability to do what I need, or if I am just typing things incorrectly to get them to work for my application.

To set up my context. My company works on heavy equipment. There are various user groups for that equipment. We track the equipment that is broken on a spreadsheet and distribute that daily. Instead of manually counting each thing, they want it to auto tally to show how many of each are out of service. I can do that for an entire equipment type, but they now want it automatically separated automatically within the equipment type, to show the user groups as well. The request is to not have to type anything other than the unit number and have the sheet smart enough to decide who it goes to.

I have a master sheet of all of the equipment that I have thrown in the 2nd sheet for it to draw the data from, but I'm not sure if the formula will be smart enough for all of the parameters.

I need it to look at cells E22:E69 (same sheet, and where we type in the broken equipment numbers) and say if they match D6:D10000 on sheet "inventory", and also if the user group in C6:C10000 (on sheet "inventory") is "STNOPS" and the equipment type in F6:F10000 (on sheet "inventory") is "tractor", then to count/tally/add those together to give me a total of the matches. I'd do another one for a different user group, then repeat this for 2 other equipment types for both user groups.