SUMIFS getting too big - is there a better way?

InstructorAmberA

Situation - there is a tally sheet where an employee tallies things that are missing based on States and Trucks run in a state. Each State "owns" a cell in the Sheet.

If the Full State is missing, the employee types the State abbreviation in that State's cell. If a partial number is missing, they enter the Qty of trucks missing. I made a formula for one district. The formula is ugly and I am sure there must be a better way but I am just learning Excel. My current formula works as expected and can be used as a base if needed.

Current Need: The current request is to extend from Columns M:AD to M:CZ Currently I am typing "=SUMIFS($AR$10:AR$47,AP$10:AP$47,M10)+" for every cell in the row. I don't want to add this 40 more times :(.

The current SUMIFS lists each cell M10-AC10, uses TotalTruckNumber if an abbreviation Text is entered, and then takes the full row to collect the "numbers' to sum the full row.
TotalTruckNumber returned for the squares come from a Table currently housed in AP10:AR47

Partial Example shown here:

Row/columnAPAQAR
10 StateOwner(s)Total Trucks for State
11 AR 1 3
12 CA 5 18
13 IA 1 2
14 IN 1 6
15 KY 1 5
16 MI 1 1

<colgroup><col><col span="3"><col></colgroup><tbody>
</tbody>

Example Tally Sheet below. Cell K9=FoodTruckCount Text. K10 is the location of the formula.
-L- is a blank column. AR is Cell M10

K -L-MNOPQ
row9Food Truck CountAR CA IA IN KY
row 10 8 AR 2 IA 1
row 11 0
row 12 43 AR CA IA IN KY

<colgroup><col span="3"><col><col span="3"></colgroup><tbody>
</tbody>

Current working formula being used is :