Summing Energy Consumption for Day/Nights With Adjustable Times

Kraken2345

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi, this is my first time posting here and I'm definitely not an advanced excel user but was hoping for some guidance. I'm looking at my home energy consumption to evaluate the viability of different energy technologies (solar for example). This data is just an example of a year's energy consumption I sourced from some online energy tutorial.

I've got rows of energy data for a year period, so 365 days (and rows). Each day has 24 data points (columns), which represents energy consumption per hour. I've added another column to identify the weekdays and weekends, using the WEEKDAY function.

I now want to identify total energy consumption in the day and night of weekdays and weekends, based on criteria which I can change. For example, setting daytime hours between 06:00 and 18:00, then calculating the energy consumption on weekdays and then on weekends during these hours. Also calculating the energy consumption during the weekday and weekend evenings.

Thanks for any help/advice!

Attachments

• Excel Data.PNG
    Excel Data.PNG
    69.1 KB · Views: 19

Excel Facts

What is the shortcut key for Format Selection?
Ctrl+1 (the number one) will open the Format dialog for whatever is selected.
Something like this would work for daytimes in the week:

=SUMPRODUCT((A1:X1>=TIME(6,0,0))*(A1:X1<=TIME(18,0,0))*(Y2:Y20<=5)*A2:X20)

Upvote 0
Something like this would work for daytimes in the week:

=SUMPRODUCT((A1:X1>=TIME(6,0,0))*(A1:X1<=TIME(18,0,0))*(Y2:Y20<=5)*A2:X20)