Temporarily Display Popup

hatman

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
2,664
So I am building a tutorial for one of my applications. At one point in the sequence, I would like to demonstrate the use of a popup menu. I was thinking that displaying the popup menu would be nice, so the user knows what it looks like. I see a couple of possible roadblocks here, but let's start with the first:

Code:
Application.CommandBars("Pes_Vacation").ShowPopup
displays the popup, but then the code pauses waiting for the user to make a selection from the menu. Is there a way to simply display the menu for a period of 2 or 3 seconds, then make it disappear, and continue running the code without requiring the user to make a selection?
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

What does custom number format of ;;; mean?
Three semi-colons will hide the value in the cell. Although most people use white font instead.

Cbrine

Well-known Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2003
Messages
3,196
hatman,
I tired a few things and ran into the same issue as you. Processing ceases when the pop-up appears, which mean you will not be able to do anything to eliminate this.

Alternatives?
Maybe create some screenshots that you can pull up instead of the actual menu. Then you should be able to control the length of time.

HTH
Cal
 

hatman

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
2,664
Yeah, that's about what I came up with... I was thinking alternative might be to make a dummy userform that looks enough like a popup that the user won't notice, and then manipulate THAT for demonstration purpose...

Thanx Cbrine, I'll play and see and what looks best.
 

Cbrine

Well-known Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2003
Messages
3,196
hatman,

You can use a screen scraper app to get an acutal pic of the menu, and just add that to a userform. I used Wisdom screenhunter to test this, with the RECTANGLE AREA option. That way you don't need to try and build it.

HTH
Cal
 

hatman

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
2,664
Thanx CBrine. Sounds like we went down the same route (though i don't have a screen grabber installed on this machine, and they down't trust me to do it). I simply did a Ctrl+Print Screen, then pasted into Paintbrush, and used a photo editor to crop it, then inserted into a userform with a caption of Popup Sample. Looks okay.

Thanx for thinking of me and following up!
 

Cbrine

Well-known Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2003
Messages
3,196
Those terrible screen scraper applications. I believe they must be related to **** & warez sites somehow, no wonder your IT group won't let you have them. It might make your job easier or something, and IT isn't there to help you. :devilish: :eek:
Sounds like you got a handle on in spite of your IT groups iSAnE rULeS.
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,113,789
Messages
5,544,290
Members
410,601
Latest member
Silver2
Top