The Hardest Challenge Ever!...Need help with a formula that extract and sorts unique values from a data set.

cwfromct

Hi everyone, I have been searching for a formula that would do the following, extract unique values from a frequency chart..Please excuse me I am new to this form and limited knowledge of excel. (I am not a spreadsheet master..lol)

example of the chart:
abcde
1gas205
2trv205302
3gas320205
4gas320205450302
5gas220

<tbody>
</tbody>

This what I want the end result to be.
codeqtycodeqty
gas44501
3202trv1

<tbody>
</tbody>

I know I can use the count formula in qty column, my problem is finding a formula that would extract the unique values from the data set in code column..I know this is complex because I have been searching everywhere for it. I can find one that would go in rows or columns but not in both direction..keep in mind I am using excel 2007 has to work dynamically and be compatible with other spreadsheets such as google spreadsheets if possible...I personally thank you in advance for your help,
Chris.

Excel Facts

Pivot Table Drill Down
Double-click any number in a pivot table to create a new report showing all detail rows that make up that number
If I understand you correctly, your easiest path might be just to copy all of the individual columns in one column one on top of the other and then use Advanced Filter to remove dupes (ie if you have 1000 rows, column A will go from 1-1000,B from 1001-2000) etc...

Cheers, :)

Upvote 0
That would the easiest if would it would work..I tried that and I get The extract range has missing or a illegal field name..I do not think that would work anyways many people would using the spreadsheet..A dynamic formula would work..