jakebatts

Background: I am a new intern at a custom interior design company and I have been hired to streamline and simplify the process that they go through with tracking inventory and the time spent on different jobs so they can calculate their job costs accurately. I have spent days working on this project and coming up with different ideas on how to go about creating this system. I want to try and stay within Excel to keep this project as cost effective as possible. I'm still not entirely sure if what i want to accomplish is even possible but I thought I might as well bring my problem here before calling it quits.
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I want to implement a bar-code system= There will be a bar-code for all inventory, there will also be a specific bar for each Person in the shop, Job ID, a Build Process ID, and Cost Code ID.

Now what I want to happen is have every person scan into the job they are working on, so they would scan their own Name barcode, then they would scan Job ID, Process ID, and Cost Code ID and these will display across a row in Excel with a price stamp of them Clocking IN to the project. Then while in the project we want them to be able to scan the inventory used for each project and this will also be displayed in the excel sheet. Then when the person scans their Name barcode again it will give a TIME OUT stamp with date and time in it. Each time a person clocks out, whether they clock into the same job or a different job we want this to start in a new row. Also each different person clocking in will start on a new row.

NameJobIDProcessIDPayIDDateTime INDate+Time OUTTotalTIME WorkedInventory1Inventory2Inventory3Inventory(x)
Mike13-052-A1226/23/14 8:35 am6/23/14 10:30 am2PlywoodSandpaperScrews
Joe14-523-A1326/23/14 9:00 am6/23/14 10:30 am1.5PrimerPaintBrush
Bob15-552-B1016/23/14 9:30 am6/23/14 1:30 pm4SandpaperScrews