To Access or not to Access. That is the “Question”

DocAElstein

Banned user
Hi.
. WARNING:- This is a bit rambling!!. It’s aimed only at long experienced Access and Excel users who have the time for a bit of a Philosophical Question!!
. This Thread could have gone in Forums Excel, Access or Other. I think I shouldn’t duplicate Threads so I thought… To be an Access expert you probably first become an Excel (and maybe also VBA) expert, so putting it here is sort of 2 out of 3.
. It is not a specific question. I’m just stuck at a bit of a crossroads, not knowing whether to continue playing with big text and Excel files, manipulating them with VBA, or whether to take the extra time and expense to get into Access
. My background is very unusual, giving me a very untypical and unique view of thing. For 25 years I used in research the best computers there were (which usually costed more than a big House). Then I “opted out” before breaking my “Computer Koma” a couple of years back for a private project and started again with my first experience with PCs and Windows, especially Excel (from 2007 versions), and more recently VBA. I’ve always had the habit of handling and looking at ridiculous large amounts of data and enormous Data tables all at the same time. Speed and size limitations made my life very hard!!. Since “waking up” to computers I’m still amazed how cheaply one can obtain blitz speed and a ridiculous almost endless amount of memory