Toolbar in MDE

leibale

Active Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2002
Messages
335
I Customized a Toolbar and attached it to a form using the form.toolbar property.
I also, defined the first form to load,
Now if I open the MDE file using the Access 2003, the toolbar appear when the form is activated. if I open the same MDE file, in the same computer, using RUNTIME 2007, the toolbar do not appear.
How I can fix this problem?
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Excel Wisdom
Using a mouse in Excel is the work equivalent of wearing a lanyard when you first get to college

boblarson

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Nov 14, 2008
Messages
1,964
if I open the same MDE file, in the same computer, using RUNTIME 2007, the toolbar do not appear.
How I can fix this problem?
The toolbar should appear under the ADD-INS tab on the Ribbon in Access 2007. So, you may need to add the Ribbon with the Add-ins tab on it for use in 2007.
 

leibale

Active Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2002
Messages
335
The toolbar should appear under the ADD-INS tab on the Ribbon in Access 2007. So, you may need to add the Ribbon with the Add-ins tab on it for use in 2007.
The Access file was created as access 2000 with access 2003. Then this Test.MDB file was taken by me to another computer. In the second computer I have Access 2003 and also RunTime of access 2007
After doing what I need to do to convert the file to MDE file, I see that opening the file with Access 2003, show me the toolbar. Opening it with the Runtime, Does not show it to me
About the ADD-INS tab, it is empty with Access 2003, and of course I cannot see it in the Runtime 2007. The toolbar is within the MDE file because I can see it if I open the MDE with access 2003.
How can I sent an application to someone that has only the runtime, and I want him to use this customized toolbar?
 

leibale

Active Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2002
Messages
335
Does it mean, that I have to use Access 2007 to open the MDB (2003) file, than, to define the ADD-IN to recognize the toolbar, and only then convert to MDE ?
 

boblarson

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Nov 14, 2008
Messages
1,964

ADVERTISEMENT

Does it mean, that I have to use Access 2007 to open the MDB (2003) file, than, to define the ADD-IN to recognize the toolbar, and only then convert to MDE ?
No, what I mean is that you may have to open the mdb in Access 2007 in order to create a custom ribbon which contains the Add-In Button and then assign that new ribbon as the default so that the runtime (which runs without any ribbons if you don't assign one), would have the ability to get to your toolbar item.

If you are going to use the Access 2007 Runtime then you need to set it up with Access 2007 unless you can do without any toolbars.
 

leibale

Active Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2002
Messages
335
Thank you Bob,
So, because the application is created with Access 2003, and I do not have Access 2007, The application will be without toolbar. I told the user to install Runtime 2007, because he can get it free from Microsoft Site. Until now every thing was OK except of the toolbar problem
 

boblarson

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Nov 14, 2008
Messages
1,964
You could give him a right-click menu to do the same thing and that WOULD work with the runtime if you assign the custom shortcut menu to the form.
 

Subscribe on YouTube

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,106,623
Messages
5,512,460
Members
408,898
Latest member
Glenno557

This Week's Hot Topics

  • Sort code advice please
    Hi, I have the code below which im trying to edit but getting a little stuck. This was the original code which worked fine,columns A-F would sort...
  • SUMPRODUCT with nested If statement
    Hi everyone, Hope you're all well. I'm hoping someone will be able to point me in the right direction with a problem I'm having with a SUMPRODUCT...
  • VBA - simple sort is killing me!
    Hello all! This should be so easy, but not for me, apparently! I have a table of data that can be of varying lengths and widths. My current macro...
  • Compare Two Lists
    I have two Lists and I need to be able to Identify differences between them. List 100 comes from a workbook - the other is downloaded form the...
  • Formula that deducts points for each code I input.
    I am trying to create a formula that will have each student in my class start at 100 points and then for each code that I enter (PP for Poor...
  • Conditional formatting formula required for day of week and a value
    Hi, I have a really simple spreadsheet where column A is the date, column B is the activity total shown as a number and column C states the day of...
Top