Top Values Count and duplicates

futaku

<style><!--table {mso-displayed-decimal-separator:"\,"; mso-displayed-thousand-separator:"\.";}@page {margin:1.0in .75in 1.0in .75in; mso-header-margin:.5in; mso-footer-margin:.5in;}td {padding:0px; mso-ignore:padding; color:black; font-size:11.0pt; font-weight:400; font-style:normal; text-decoration:none; font-family:Calibri, sans-serif; mso-font-charset:0; mso-number-format:General; text-align:general; vertical-align:bottom; border:none; mso-background-source:auto; mso-pattern:auto; mso-protection:locked visible; white-space:nowrap; mso-rotate:0;}--></style>
Hey guys, I'm new with excel esp in analysing data, sorry if this question is too basic for anyone that understand

So I've got this array of datas to work with, I need to find the top 5 values based on the the count of their names:

Hart
John
Crux
Manuel
Bryan
Bryan
John
John
Adam
Adam
Crux
Adam
Adam
Adam
Manuel
Ziko

<!--StartFragment--> <colgroup><col width="65" style="width:65pt"> </colgroup><tbody>
<!--EndFragment--></tbody>

Initially I use the countif to get the count number for each name (Adam=5, John=3, Crux=2, Manuel=2, Bryan=2, Hart=1, Ziko=1) and then I use Large function to get the top values, but because there are duplicates in two different columns (the names and the "2"s), I can't properly do that.

I did use pivot table and sort, and got the result easily (Adam - John - Crux - Manuel - Bryan), but I do need the manual formulas as well to complete.

anyone can help me please? thank you

Excel Facts

Create a chart in one keystroke
Select the data and press Alt+F1 to insert a default chart. You can change the default chart to any chart type
I usually cheat this. I keep the Pivot Table and then allow the GETPIVOTDATA formula option when referencing a PivotTable cell.
If you want a straight formula without any use of PivotTable, you are probably closer than you think.