Total noob - how to modify the look/type of commandbutton (excel2011, Mac)

lmheim

Hi. Please bear with me on this as I am not a power user and this is my first macro. I have looked in tutorials, the Dummies book and tried to search here on the forum before posting and didn't find guidance.

Someone recently wrote a macro for me that is initiated by clicking on a button and I would like to change the button. Right now it is a Button with text inside. I would like it to be a Radio Button or Check box. There are not multiple selections just a single button either clicked or not. When it is clicked, it runs the event.

These buttons are located in a specific cell in the spreadsheet and not in a popup window or user form (did I use that term correctly?)

I can locate and edit the macro code, but I can't find where/how to edit the button type/image. Can someone offer guidance or direct me to a tutorial/other info to help? Thank you for your patience and assistance.

Excel Facts

What is the shortcut key for Format Selection?
Ctrl+1 (the number one) will open the Format dialog for whatever is selected.
Hi and Welcome to the Board,

I don't use a Mac, but since you haven't had any replies I'll try to help. :)

Excel for Mac uses only Form Controls (not ActiveX Controls which are available in Windows).
To edit Form Controls in Windows, you Right-Click on the Control, then pick Format Control. (I presume there's something similar for Mac).

The color pallets and other properties that you can customize for Form Controls is relatively limited.
As an alternative, you might consider placing a Shape Object in the worksheet and assigning a macro to it.
There are more options avialable for customizing the appearance of Shapes than Form Control Buttons.

To select a different type of Control, go to the Developer tab of the Ribbon (Preferences > Ribbon)

Last edited:
Upvote 0