Transfer sheet data from one sheet to another when cell value is changed?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alain_G

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
  3. Mobile
  4. Web
Hello all!

I'm not sure how to really achieve this with Excel as I have no coding background and this type of work was unfortunately dumped on me. So I have the following Products in Stock sheet:
1609766617972.png

So when I enter in Y or N in the Needed? cells, I would like for some type of formula or maybe code to import the serial numbers from the following sheet:
1609766715180.png

In the event if nothing is entered, I'd like to have the Serial Number cell be blank.

Thank you for your assistance!

Excel Facts

Does the VLOOKUP table have to be sorted?
No! when you are using an exact match, the VLOOKUP table can be in any order. Best-selling items at the top is actually the best.
Welcome to the Board!

You can do this pretty easily with an IF and VLOOKUP formula.
Place this formula in cell E2 and copy down for all rows:
Excel Formula:
=IF(OR(D2="Y",D2="N"),VLOOKUP('Products in Stock'!A2,'Serial Number'!A:B,2,0),"")

Here is a more detailed explanation of how to use VLOOKUP between two sheets: Excel formula: VLOOKUP from another sheet | Exceljet

Upvote 0
Solution
Welcome to the Board!

You can do this pretty easily with an IF and VLOOKUP formula.
Place this formula in cell E2 and copy down for all rows:
Excel Formula:
=IF(OR(D2="Y",D2="N"),VLOOKUP('Products in Stock'!A2,'Serial Number'!A:B,2,0),"")

Here is a more detailed explanation of how to use VLOOKUP between two sheets: Excel formula: VLOOKUP from another sheet | Exceljet
Do I need to insert "$" anywhere or can I just copy it down?

Upvote 0
You shouldn't need to use it in this case, since we are referencing the entire columns A and B on your "Serial Numbers" sheet.
If you wanted to use an exact range instead, then you would use the "$" to lock that range down.

Upvote 0