Trouble with formula not finding its logical expression

cadence

Well-known Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
528
Hello again.

I Have a little formula, (when I say little I mean long) as below

=IF(AND(DropList!$B$96=1,BE10>0),AZ10+(IF(INT($H$32)+($H$32-INT($H$32))/0.6<$E$72,0,IF($E$72<$E$74,MAX(0,(INT($H$32)+($H$32-INT($H$32))/0.6-$E$72-($E$74-$E$72)))*2+(IF(($H$32-$E$72)<($E$74-$E$72),(INT($H$32)+($H$32-INT($H$32))/0.6-$E$72),($E$74-$E$72)))*1.5,(INT($H$32)+($H$32-INT($H$32))/0.6-$E$72)*2))*$FY10+IF(DropList!$B$70=TRUE,$BM10,IF(DropList!$B$96=2,BP10/($E$85),IF(AND(DropList!$B$96=3,BE10>0),AZ10+((BP10/($E$85)/$L$61)),"")))))

When I test the logical expressions the fisrt argument (DropList!$B$96=1,BE10>0), it true value consist of the remiander of the equation,

In reality I need the false argument to commence from IF(DropList!$B$96=2 and the third argument from (DropList!$B$96=3,BE10>0)

can any one offer solution to manage the syntax so that the argument break up in the right way and return values instead of TRUE/FALSE?

I'm sure it could be written more economical, but its beyond me at the moment. it basically is a wages counter.

Thanks as always
johnny
 

Excel Facts

Repeat Last Command
Pressing F4 adds dollar signs when editing a formula. When not editing, F4 repeats last command.

Andrew Poulsom

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Jul 21, 2002
Messages
73,092
If simplified, your formula looks like this:

=IF(Test1,IF(Test2,True2,IF(Test3,True3+IF(Test4,True4,False4),False3))+IF(Test5,True5,IF(Test6,True6,IF(Test7,True7,False7))))

True1 is covered by the remainder of the formula. False2 is covered by Test3, False5 is covered by Test6 and False6 is covered by Test7. False1 is missing.

Do you want?

=IF(Test1,IF(Test2,True2,IF(Test3,True3+IF(Test4,True4,False4),False3))+IF(Test5,True5,0),IF(Test6,True6,IF(Test7,True7,False7)))

False5 is now covered by the zero and False1 is covered by Test6.

Converting your formula, I think it would be:

=IF(AND(DropList!$B$96=1,BE10>0),AZ10+(IF(INT($H$32)+($H$32-INT($H$32))/0.6<$E$72,0,IF($E$72<$E$74,MAX(0,(INT($H$32)+($H$32-INT($H$32))/0.6-$E$72-($E$74-$E$72)))*2+(IF(($H$32-$E$72)<($E$74-$E$72),(INT($H$32)+($H$32-INT($H$32))/0.6-$E$72),($E$74-$E$72)))*1.5,(INT($H$32)+($H$32-INT($H$32))/0.6-$E$72)*2))*$FY10+IF(DropList!$B$70=TRUE,$BM10,0),IF(DropList!$B$96=2,BP10/($E$85),IF(AND(DropList!$B$96=3,BE10>0),AZ10+((BP10/($E$85)/$L$61)),""))))
 

cadence

Well-known Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
528
Yes False One is missing, Ideally I need false One to comence from IF(DropList!$B$96=2. (the second false is IF(AND(DropList!$B$96=3,BE10>0) which is Test 6- I think)
the basic premise of the argument is depending on wether DropList!$B$96 = 1,2 or 3 will give the different result, and that only these results are to be displayed if Argument one is true ie IF(AND(DropList!$B$96=1,BE10>0)

Thank you for looking at it and I hope it helps you to help me solve this.

I did try your solution and try to manipulate it but was still not getting the result I intended.

Its a little conveluted formula which doesn't help with clarity.

johnny
 

Andrew Poulsom

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Jul 21, 2002
Messages
73,092
In the formula I posted IF(DropList!$B$96=2 is the False argument for IF(AND(DropList!$B$96=1,BE10>0). So it should give you the result you intended. It's difficult to test without some sample data and required results.
 

cadence

Well-known Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
528
Thanks Andrew,
its weird I have pasted directly your amended formula into the cell and test the logic on it still comes up with the remainder of the equation as the TRUE argument for IF(AND(DropList!$B$96=1,BE10>0).

=IF(AND(DropList!$B$96=1,BE10>0),AZ10+(IF(INT($H$32)+($H$32-INT($H$32))/0.6<$E$72,0,IF($E$72<$E$74,MAX(0,(INT($H$32)+($H$32-INT($H$32))/0.6-$E$72-($E$74-$E$72)))*2+(IF(($H$32-$E$72)<($E$74-$E$72),(INT($H$32)+($H$32-INT($H$32))/0.6-$E$72),($E$74-$E$72)))*1.5,(INT($H$32)+($H$32-INT($H$32))/0.6-$E$72)*2))*$FY10+IF(DropList!$B$70=TRUE,$BM10,0),IF(DropList!$B$96=2,BP10/($E$85),IF(AND(DropList!$B$96=3,BE10>0),AZ10+((BP10/($E$85)/$L$61)),""))))

DropList!$B$96 = User entered 1,2 or 3 (basis for three true outcomes
BE10 = days worked, ie not 0 days
H32 =Number of hours worked (eg 12)
E72 = base hour of a standard day (ie before overtime) (eg 8 hours)
E74 = When doubel time starts (ie differ between E72 is at x1.5) (eg 12-8 hours)
DropList!$B$70=TRUE is a check box
$BM10 = additional loading (eg 100)
BP10 = and alternative amount (eg 200)

I know that the main formula works:
AZ10+(IF(INT($H$32)+($H$32-INT($H$32))/0.6<$E$72,0,IF($E$72<$E$74,MAX(0,(INT($H$32)+($H$32-INT($H$32))/0.6-$E$72-($E$74-$E$72)))*2+(IF(($H$32-$E$72)<($E$74-$E$72),(INT($H$32)+($H$32-INT($H$32))/0.6-$E$72),($E$74-$E$72)))*1.5,(INT($H$32)+($H$32-INT($H$32))/0.6-$E$72)*2))*$FY10+IF(DropList!$B$70=TRUE,$BM10,0)

its just when I integrate this as part of the three arguments that it stumbles.

Hope this hasn't confused things more!

-(on a side note the cells on the formula do not change colour when you click in the formula itself, only their brackets change colour - Is there a reason for this, or does this mean anything?)

Sorry Andrew for the overload.

johnny
 

cadence

Well-known Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
528
Thanks Andrew,
its weird I have pasted directly your amended formula into the cell and test the logic on it still comes up with the remainder of the equation as the TRUE argument for IF(AND(DropList!$B$96=1,BE10>0).

=IF(AND(DropList!$B$96=1,BE10>0),AZ10+(IF(INT($H$32)+($H$32-INT($H$32))/0.6<$E$72,0,IF($E$72<$E$74,MAX(0,(INT($H$32)+($H$32-INT($H$32))/0.6-$E$72-($E$74-$E$72)))*2+(IF(($H$32-$E$72)<($E$74-$E$72),(INT($H$32)+($H$32-INT($H$32))/0.6-$E$72),($E$74-$E$72)))*1.5,(INT($H$32)+($H$32-INT($H$32))/0.6-$E$72)*2))*$FY10+IF(DropList!$B$70=TRUE,$BM10,0),IF(DropList!$B$96=2,BP10/($E$85),IF(AND(DropList!$B$96=3,BE10>0),AZ10+((BP10/($E$85)/$L$61)),""))))

DropList!$B$96 = User entered 1,2 or 3 (basis for three true outcomes
BE10 = days worked, ie not 0 days
H32 =Number of hours worked (eg 12)
E72 = base hour of a standard day (ie before overtime) (eg 8 hours)
E74 = When doubel time starts (ie differ between E72 is at x1.5) (eg 12-8 hours = 4 hours overtime)
DropList!$B$70=TRUE is a check box
$BM10 = additional loading (eg 100)
BP10 = and alternative amount (eg 200)

I know that the main formula works:
AZ10+(IF(INT($H$32)+($H$32-INT($H$32))/0.6<$E$72,0,IF($E$72<$E$74,MAX(0,(INT($H$32)+($H$32-INT($H$32))/0.6-$E$72-($E$74-$E$72)))*2+(IF(($H$32-$E$72)<($E$74-$E$72),(INT($H$32)+($H$32-INT($H$32))/0.6-$E$72),($E$74-$E$72)))*1.5,(INT($H$32)+($H$32-INT($H$32))/0.6-$E$72)*2))*$FY10+IF(DropList!$B$70=TRUE,$BM10,0)

its just when I integrate this as part of the three arguments that it stumbles.

Hope this hasn't confused things more!

-(on a side note the cells on the formula do not change colour when you click in the formula itself, only their brackets change colour - Is there a reason for this, or does this mean anything?)

Sorry Andrew for the overload.

johnny
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,141,916
Messages
5,709,327
Members
421,629
Latest member
RLRobinson

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top