Trouble with nested IF OR

Dreamofsheets

Hi I'm wondering if anyone can help with an issue I just can't seem to solve.

I'm trying to use a nested IF OR statement to show a value in a cell from another sheet:

=IF(OR(F7,F9,F11=Lists!A1),Lists!C5,IF(OR(F4,F7,F8,F9,F10,F11=Lists!A1),Lists!C6,""))

The first part of the statement works

=IF(OR(F7,F9,F11=Lists!A1),Lists!C5

If the conditions in cells F7,F9 and F11 are met the value in the cell shows Lists!C5

But the second part of the statement does not seem to work

IF(OR(F4,F7,F8,F9,F10,F11=Lists!A1),Lists!C6

Even if all the conditions are met for F4,F7,F8,F9,F10 and F11 the value in the cell does not show Lists!C6

Would someone please be able to suggest changes to my formula to make it work?

Apologies if I have used any incorrect terminology - this is my first attempt at working with the IF OR functions

Thanks

Excel Facts

Pivot Table Drill Down
Double-click any number in a pivot table to create a new report showing all detail rows that make up that number
You're not evaluating any of those F cells except for the last one in your formulae.

So for example, =IF(OR(F4,F7,F8,F9,F10,F11=Lists!A1),Lists!C6) is only looking at F11=Lists!A1

You want to show Lists!C5 value if F7,F9,F11 all equal A1? But show Lists!C6 value if F4,F7,F8,F9,F10,F11 all equal A1 too?

Upvote 0
You cant do it like that, you have to list each OR condition (same with AND)
should be this

=IF(OR(F7=Lists!A1,F9=Lists!A1,F11=Lists!A1),Lists!C5,IF(OR(F4=Lists!A1,F7=Lists!A1,F8=Lists!A1,F9=Lists!A1,F10=Lists!A1,F11=Lists!A1),Lists!C6,""))

Though this still looks wrong, see highlighted in red

IF(F7=Lists!A1 then Lists!C5 otherwise IF(F7=Lists!A1 then Lists!C6
The second IF will never be executed since the first IF will supercede it as it's the same condition
This goes for for F9 and F11 too.
You need to sort your logic out first.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
You cant do it like that, you have to list each OR condition (same with AND)
should be this