Trying to delete rows from a very large spreadsheet

tannerle

I am a novice at VBA and trying to figure this out with no luck. I currently use Excel 2003. In a very large workbook, I would like to find all rows that are more than three years old, or older than a certain date, and delete that row. There are roughly 360 worksheets in the workbook. However, all the worksheets do not need to be reviewed. All the dates are in column A, but not necessarily in order and some rows are blank. Any help would be appreciated as I try to reduce the size of this file. I believe one of my coworkers has "spreadsheet envy" and loves extremely large spreadsheets, which I now have inherited and must deal with. Thank you!

LT

Excel Facts

How to fill five years of quarters?
Type 1Q-2023 in a cell. Grab the fill handle and drag down or right. After 4Q-2023, Excel will jump to 1Q-2024. Dash can be any character.
Hi LT and welcome to the Board
How many sheets need / do not need reviewing ?
What is the certain date that sets the criteria ?

Upvote 0
Hi LT and welcome to the Board
How many sheets need / do not need reviewing ?
What is the certain date that sets the criteria ?

So 360 sheets need reviewing, nine do not. I only need data from the last three years, so I would want to delete everything before July 1, 2009.

Upvote 0
The code below, which compiles OK but is otherwise untested, goes through all the worksheets.
Code:
Option Explicit

Sub deleteOldRows()
    Dim WS As Worksheet
    For Each WS In ActiveWorkbook.Worksheets
        Dim I As Long
        For I = WS.Cells(WS.Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp).Row To 1 Step -1
            Dim aCell As Range: Set aCell = WS.Cells(I, 1)
            On Error Resume Next
            If Not IsDate(aCell.Value) Then
            ElseIf aCell.Value < DateSerial(2009, 7, 1) Then
                aCell.EntireRow.Delete
                End If
            On Error GoTo 0
            Next I
        Next WS
    End Sub