Trying to Make a macro to compare/copy/write between workbooks

DrParmeJohnson

Hello,
I am relatively new to VBA and so this kind of macro is a bit over my head. Any help is appreciated.

I am trying to make a macro that is executed in my active workbook that looks at another workbook which contains two columns of information. The macro then would look at a cell of a specified and named column and then compare that cell with a column of the same name on the other workbook. If it finds a cell that matches, it will take the value in the next column over and paste that value in a new column that will come after the predefined column it searched in originally and then repeat this process until the entire column has been matched to their corresponding values. The idea is to match up one company's product code (ASIN) with another company's product code (Item#) that correlates to the same product. Also, the column in which the ASIN value comes, may vary between different workbooks.

I know this is a lot but, it would help me greatly as I have no real idea of how to make this come to life.

Thanks again.

Excel Facts

Can Excel fill bagel flavors?
You can teach Excel a new custom list. Type the list in cells, File, Options, Advanced, Edit Custom Lists, Import, OK
I looked at this question several days ago. But I normally do not try to help when there are no specifics.

Like you said:
that looks at another workbook
?? What is the name of the other workbook and look on what sheet.

You said:
which contains two columns of information

?? What two columns you need to say like columns 4 and 6

You said:
The macro then would look at a cell of a specified and named column
What is the name of this specified column?? And by named column how did you name the column?

And on and on.

Maybe if you will provide specifics like this someone here may be able to help you.
<strike>
</strike>

Upvote 0