WarriorJyn

Hi ALL!!

I've been working on a VBA project on and off for a little while to make things easier at work. to tell you a bit about my work, I'm actually a lab analyst rather than a data analyst, so mostly I'm mucking in testing tap water rather than playing around with excel :LOL:; but each day we receive an excel file showing the samples we are going to receive and what their tests are in case they don't scan on arrival. People were manually searching through each day to find out the total number of samples expected and total microbiology tests to find out how much media to use. So I spent an afternoon writing a macro for them to be able to do it in seconds, which as there are 7000 rows they are pretty happy about! :ROFLMAO: however what illuded me for some time was a way of searching through the sample numbers to work out how many bottles were going to arrive. I could have just copied the way they were doing it with a macro but somehow it felt like cheating. I wanted to use a formula, but I couldn't find anything that did the job. I did find a UDF which could count unique results, but I couldn't use it reliably as it was also counting samples which didn't have a sampled date. So I sat and played with it, adding things and so on and now it works :) Please suggest any changes if you can think of a way to work more clearer or more effectively. Mostly I'm sharing this because I couldn't find it anywhere online, and yet I'm sure it has utilisation elsewhere, so I would like to make it freely available.

Here is an example of the data we receive to relevant to the function, sometimes there is no bottle number, sometimes there is no sampled date, on both of these occasions the sample should not be counted.
The function will only count a sample if the first column of the range matches the search criteria, e.g. sampled date.

SAMPLED_DATESAMPLED_TIMEAD_HOCCONTAINER_TYPEBOTTLE_NUMBER
07-FEB-1912:52BACTSW4072901
07-FEB-1912:52BACTSW4072902