Updating a summary report automaticaly from existing data using VBA

natik

Hi there,
I'm trying to figure out how I could generate a report using a Command Button. I have a spreadsheet that contains data in columns, some of which I want showing up in the summary report. Any new data entered should be updated in the summary report when I hit the command button. Existing data in the original spreadsheet does not get erased or written over.

So basically, I have data in column range A:R in Sheet 1. Columns A, D. E, F, G, I, J, P, and R need to show up in the report on Sheet 2. I already have 150 rows of data in sheet 1, so i don't want to start over. So I need to copy the relevant columns, and update the report with any new data that gets entered in the columns in Sheet1, in the next empy row.

I have some vba code that copies individual cells, but I don't know how to do it for columns and for new data. VBA-wise I don't know what I'm doing yet. Sorry! I'm just starting to learn it, but really need to automate my reports at work!

I would be very grateful for some help. I'm working on this and will post my code on this thread if needed.

Excel Facts

VLOOKUP to Left?
Use =VLOOKUP(A2,CHOOSE({1,2},$Z$1:$Z$99,$Y$1:$Y$99),2,False) to lookup Y values to left of Z values.
Is the report on Sheet 2 columnar as well? So Sheet1 -> Sheet2, is the mapping A->A, D->B, E->C, ... etc up to R-I? The data rows are in 1-to-1 correspondence?

Also, is there a key column? Or some combination of columns that identifies a row as "new"? Perhaps you're working with a date range? Or does each cell need to be checked to establish whether or not it's unique?

Upvote 0
Is the report on Sheet 2 columnar as well? So Sheet1 -> Sheet2, is the mapping A->A, D->B, E->C, ... etc up to R-I? The data rows are in 1-to-1 correspondence?