Updating Master Excel Sheet from multiple spreadsheet Dynamically

excelnubie4help

Hello, mrExcel! This is my first post, so please be kind. I have some moderate VBA experience. Here is the situation I am seeking advice on.

I am part of a compliance team and I handle the 'automation' part. We are currently in the midst of a User Access Review that is being handled via excel spreadsheets (long story). There is one 'master' spreadsheet that contains all reviews (currently all approval/reject in the column are blank) with over 55,000 entries. Each reviewer will be emailing us back with their approvals/rejections based on the reviews they were responsible for (they filter for their name on the 'approver' column, not really important).

Here is my question:

Is there a way to dynamically create data connections to spreadsheets? The way this would be structured is as each spreadsheet from the reviewers come in (varies per day), they are stored in a cloud folder. Each spreadsheet is in a .xlsx format and the file name is saved with the unique approver's login. EX. (LOGIN.xlsx)

I would like to create a macro that for each approver's spreadsheets in that folder, the macro would find the corresponding entries in the Master sheet, and updates the approval/reject column in the master. I would also need to keep track of which ones are already updated in the master, as not to be redundant.

This is just a loose idea of how I could structure this, but I am definitely open to other suggestions that may better suit my needs.

Is there also a way to have a front end version of the Master? Basically after the macro would update the master, the reviewers need to be able to go onto our cloud and see a view only version with their approval/rejections present.

Should I use a SQL database as the master and excel as my front end? I have been toying with different scenarios and would LOVE some advice.

I tried explaining the situation as best as I can. Thank you for any advice and help!