use =FILETER to exclude values in other ranges

smking204

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I have a master list called StockCode on a tab called InvMaster. On a separate tab, I want to recreate the list in column B such that it will exclude any value found in columns A, C, or D.

I tried this formula, testing it only with column A, but it returned #VALUE!:

=FILTER(InvMaster[StockCode], (InvMaster[StockCode]<>A:A))

The only way I can get it to do anything is to replace A:A with a single cell (i.e., A12). How do I get it to filter out values from these three other ranges? Is =FILTER the best function to use? Thanks in advance for the help!

Excel Facts

How to find 2nd largest value in a column?
MAX finds the largest value. =LARGE(A:A,2) will find the second largest. =SMALL(A:A,3) will find the third smallest
Can you post a sample of your data.

MrExcel has a tool called “XL2BB” that lets you post samples of your data that will allow us to copy/paste it to our Excel spreadsheets, so we can work with the same copy of data that you are. Instructions on using this tool can be found here: XL2BB Add-in

Note that there is also a "Test Here” forum on this board. This is a place where you can test using this tool (or any other posting techniques that you want to test) before trying to use those tools in your actual posts.

Upvote 0
Can you post a sample of your data.

MrExcel has a tool called “XL2BB” that lets you post samples of your data that will allow us to copy/paste it to our Excel spreadsheets, so we can work with the same copy of data that you are. Instructions on using this tool can be found here: XL2BB Add-in

Note that there is also a "Test Here” forum on this board. This is a place where you can test using this tool (or any other posting techniques that you want to test) before trying to use those tools in your actual posts.