Use number of gaps between cells in a column to perform calculation

jamesladbrooke1

Hi,
This is my first time posting to mrexcel so please bear with me! I've been tearing my hair out over what is probably an easily solvable question which is why I've come here! I basically have a table like the one below- in the left hand column are numbers (representing amounts of money), and there are variable gaps between each cell going down the column. I basically want to create a formula that will somehow calculate how many gaps there are between each cell and use this number to perform a simple division which will output a number in the right hand column. I will use the first entry (360) as an example. What I'd like is 60 in each cell on the right, and this is calculated from number of rows +1 (to include the 360 itself) that I want to divide 360 by. I've completed the next two entries down the column (75 and 140) but have left the rest uncalculated, as they are on my table. At the moment I'm eyeballing how many rows there are and dividing the number in the left hand column by that number to get each entry in the right hand column. Hopefully somebody can make some sort of sense from a combination of my terrible explanation/table below illustrating what I'd like formularised to help me!
Many thanks in advance,
Jamie

<tbody>
</tbody>

Excel Facts

Back into an answer in Excel
Use Data, What-If Analysis, Goal Seek to find the correct input cell value to reach a desired result
Assuming your data starts from A4 and you have data till A1000, then use this:

Code:
=IF(A4<>"",A4/SMALL(IF(A5:$A$1000<>"",ROW(A5:$A$1000)-ROW(A4)),1),C3)

As this is an array formula it requires ctrl+shift+enter after putting the formula. Just pressing "Enter" wont do the job.

Upvote 0