User Defined Formula (UDF) Problem - Results is either 0 or #value error

Capitan

Hi,

I'm new to VBA so please bear with me.

I'm trying to create a UDF function that will calculation turbulent friction faction using churchill equation
The arguments include reynolds number, absolute roughness (mm), internal diameter (mm).
I've followed several tutorials in formulating the following code but the only results i get is either 0 or a #value error.

Code:
Public Function turbulentFrictonFactor(reynoldsNumber As Double, absoluteRoughness As Double, internalDiameter As Double) As Double

'Constants declaration
Dim constB As Double
Dim constC As Double
Dim denominator1 As Double
Dim denominator2 As Double
Dim denominatorSum As Double
Dim item1 As Double
Dim item2 As Double

'Calculation of constB
denominator1 = (7 / reynoldsNumber) ^ 0.9
denominator2 = 0.27 * (absoluteRoughness / internalDiameter)
denominatorSum = denominator1 + denominator2

constB = (2.457 * Log(1 / denominatorSum)) ^ 16

'Calculation of constC

constC = (37530 / reynoldsNumber) ^ 16

'Calculation of turbulent friction factor.
'where item1 = (8/Re)^12
'where item2 = 1/(B+C)^1.5

item1 = (8 / reynoldsNumber) ^ 12
item2 = 1 / (constB + constC) ^ 1.5

turbulentFrictionFactor = 8 * (item1 + item2) ^ 1 / 12

End Function

I would appreciate if someone can point out where i am going wrong?
Thanks in advance

Excel Facts

Show numbers in thousands?
Use a custom number format of #,##0,K. Each comma after the final 0 will divide the displayed number by another thousand
You have misspelt the name of the function is should be turbulentfrictionfactor, not turbulentfrictonfactor

Another reason for avoiding verylong function names

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Hello Captain,

You can avoid the spelling issue in the future by placing Option Explicit at the top of your Code Module. This will check that every variable name in the Sub or Function procedure has been declared. If not then a message will alert you.

Upvote 0