Userform help

rholdren

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2019
This is my first attempt at building a Userform. It was actually going well and everything was working until I realized that one of my boxes was not posting a result. On the form I have a series of questions with Points awarded based on the answer. For example: It the answer to question 1 is worth 10 points the person will click on a OptionButton for 10 points and 10 will show in a TextBox next to it. This works all the way down the sheet for 13 questions but I couldn't get the boxes to add and populate in a TextBox named Your Total Points. Then it occurred to me that this is because they are all text boxes. I have tried variety of things to get it to add but the best I could get was if Q1 was 10 and Q2 was 5 Your Points were 105.

I did find a thread on here were someone had a similar problem but solved it themselves so I never really got to see what it was that they solved.

How do I get the each text boxes to display results as numeric? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Excel Facts

Which came first: VisiCalc or Lotus 1-2-3?
Dan Bricklin and Bob Frankston debuted VisiCalc in 1979 as a Visible Calculator. Lotus 1-2-3 debuted in the early 1980's, from Mitch Kapor.
Try something like
Code:
Clng(Textbox1.value) + Clng(textbox2.value)

Upvote 0
TextBoxes contain text, not numbers. To be able to add the numbers in them, try wrapping the textbox value in a Val function call inside of your adding code.

Upvote 0
where would I put the Clng? would that go in the UserForm code or in the Sub for the actual text box? here is what I had last. I would set the CSRPoints.Value to 0 but in text

Private Sub Points1_Change()
CSRPoints.Value = 0 + Points1.Value
End Sub

Upvote 0
Maybe this: ?

When TB13 is changed, it will check to see that all TBs are filled, and if so will total them into TbYourTotal

Code:
Private Sub TextBox13_Change()
Dim i As Long
Dim j As Long
Dim ttl As Double