Using ActiveX TextBox and Combo box to create Dynamic Search Function

Jords998

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi, I'm pretty new to VBA & I was looking for a little help on a project.

I'm creating a date entry form / flat file database to save customer details. The file contains 33 columns of data starting at D22 and ending at AJ7000, I would like the search function to only look at a specific column based on a drop down list using an ActiveX combo box. I have created the drop down & linked this to cell B16. The Text Box is linked to cell B20.

I know I'm after something like -
If B16 = Customer Name set range to D22:D7000
If B16 = Customer Address set range to E22:E7000.
If D22 does not contain B20 value then hide row
Next row.

What VBA would I need to do this? I would like the the search function to hide any rows where the cell in the column selected doesn't contain the value in B20. I hope this makes sense :)

Excel Facts

Lock one reference in a formula
Need 1 part of a formula to always point to the same range? use $ signs: $V$2:$Z$99 will always point to V2:Z99, even after copying
Hi, I'm pretty new to VBA & I was looking for a little help on a project.

I'm creating a date entry form / flat file database to save customer details. The file contains 33 columns of data starting at D22 and ending at AJ7000, I would like the search function to only look at a specific column based on a drop down list using an ActiveX combo box. I have created the drop down & linked this to cell B16. The Text Box is linked to cell B20.

I know I'm after something like -
If B16 = Customer Name set range to D22:D7000
If B16 = Customer Address set range to E22:E7000.
If D22 does not contain B20 value then hide row
Next row.

What VBA would I need to do this? I would like the the search function to hide any rows where the cell in the column selected doesn't contain the value in B20. I hope this makes sense :)