Using Before_Print function

CHARLESJOSEPH

:rolleyes:

First post: Very adept at Excel functionality but total newbie to VB so please forgive my retardedness.

All I want to do is simply have a macro run when the spreadsheet is printed. I have been researching the board for the past couple hours but still can't figure it out. I have seen examples of the Before_Print function in many posts but can't seem to get it to work. I've read that the code must be inserted in the "thisworkbook module" but I can't seem to find it:confused:. When I view the VB code, all I have to choose from is "general" tab or "worksheet" tab. My code is attached.

The other question I have is if there is a way to apply VB code to the whole workbook (I am assuming there is and it is probably on the elusive "thisworkbook module.") Please someone put me out of my misery.

PS: If anyone knows of a good introductory / overview of VB for idiots, please let me know. Thanks.

<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p> </o:p>
Sub Hidezero()<o:p></o:p>
For Each cell In Range("C:C")<o:p></o:p>
If cell.Value = "0" Then cell.EntireRow.Hidden = True<o:p></o:p>
Next cell<o:p></o:p>
End Sub
<o:p> </o:p>
<o:p> </o:p>

Excel Facts

Format cells as date
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+3 to format cells as date. (Shift 3 is the # sign which sort of looks like a small calendar).
Welcome to MrExcel!

If you are using XL 2003 or before, right click the Excel logo just to the left of File on the menu bar, select View Code and paste in

Code:
Private Sub Workbook_BeforePrint(Cancel As Boolean)
Call Hidezero
End Sub

then close the code window. Note that this code will fall over if you select several sheets and choose Print. If this is a possibility please post back.

Upvote 0
Thanks VOGII. I did this and got an error message. I'm sure there is something wrong with my macro and not your code. The message is...

Compile error: sub or function not defined.