Using macros to change filename and path in a cell

RonOliver

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi. I'm a teacher and I'm fairly new to VBA, so I'm still struggling a bit.

I wanted to send my mates an excel spreadsheet than was able to take information from other spreadsheets I do not know the name of. I tried using "='[So and so.xlsx]Final & Extra'!K3" so, when I hit enter, a dialog box opens asking me to locate the file. I wanted to do exactly that, only using a VBA module to open the explorer upon clicking a button and automatically changing the filename (or path) when locating the file. I managed to create a clickable button that opened a dialog box, but I don't know how to make it change the text in cells.

Excel Facts

Copy a format multiple times
Select a formatted range. Double-click the Format Painter (left side of Home tab). You can paste formatting multiple times. Esc to stop
Sounds like you need the msoFileDialogFilePicker, which will return the path string to the chosen file. Then write the string to a cell on a sheet?

Upvote 0
Sounds like you need the msoFileDialogFilePicker, which will return the path string to the chosen file. Then write the string to a cell on a sheet?
That's correct. I'm just having a hard time trying to get the file path and name from msofiledialogfilepicker and inserting it as part of a cell formula. I'm aware this is probably too easy, but I just started out with VBA last week, and it's getting a bit complicated for me to figure out.

Upvote 0
By "I don't know how to make it change the text in cells." I didn't know you meant in a cell formula. Let's start with posting the code that you've tried?
Please use code tags (vba button on posting toolbar) to maintain code indentation and make code easier to read.

Upvote 0
Sorry, my bad. It's not easy to explain things you don't really fully understand.

I was trying this code:
VBA Code:
Sub Triar_arxiu()
    Dim Dialeg As FileDialog